Very slow startup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-27-2005, 09:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default Very slow startup

Whenever I start my computer, it takes a long time to do so. It runs through the POST and those screens pretty quickly, but then the screen turns gray for about 20-30 seconds until it gets to the Windows XP screen. After that screen it goes gray for at least 30 more seconds. Does anyone have any ideas on how to fix this? Please let me know. It is very boring watching a gray screen. Thanks.
__________________

Vybuni is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 10:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

Quote:
First-
MSCONFIG (when used with the RUN command) opens up the System Configuration Utility. Most of the stuff in there you don't want to mess with unless you know what you are doing or have detailed instructions.

Click the STARTUP tab. The list that it pulls up is everything that you can choose to start up when Windows does.

Why is all of this stuff in the list? Because every program designer thinks his 'creation' is so indispensible that no one could possibly want it to NOT start up with their computer (yeah, right), so they set it into the list and have it to do just that.


Once you're at the list, look it over and see what all has a check mark. Every program that does starts up when Windows loads... EVERYTIME!

If something is checked, but you don't know what it is, Google it and find out.

Once you have seen what is there, uncheck everything that you don't need or want. Keep your firewall, antivirus, broadband drivers, graphics drivers, whatever you absolutely have to have, but uncheck everythign else.

Once you are done, click APPLY, OK, then reboot.

When your computer starts up, you'll get a grey box about the System Configuration Utility. Check the box about 'Don't run on startup' then OK.

If you had a lot of stuff checked, then your comp ought to start up faster and run more stable.

Second-
Download and run AdAware, Spybot, and possibly Microsoft AntiSpyware.
http://www.majorgeeks.com/Ad-Aware_S...onal_d506.html
http://www.majorgeeks.com/SpyBot-Sea...roy_d2471.html
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en
(All are free. Be sure to have each one update itself before you scan.)

Third-
Uninstall any unused or unnedded programs you have on your hard drive.

Fourth-
Download and run TweakNow to clean up your computer's registry.
http://www.majorgeeks.com/TweakNow_R...ner_d4134.html

Fifth-
Run Disk Defragmenter START- ALL PROGRAMS- ACCESSORIES- SYSTEM TOOLS- DISK DEFRAGMENTER).

Reboot your computer and see if it cranks up a bit faster, plus it ought to have a lot more zip to it as well.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 11:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 40
Default

Brent *POINTS UP*!!!!!!
__________________
\"No matter how deeply troubled you are, you can always change if you\'re willing.\"
Brentb2607 is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 11:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 40
Default

Also try microsoft Boot vis you can get it at www.softpedia.com!
__________________
\"No matter how deeply troubled you are, you can always change if you\'re willing.\"
Brentb2607 is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 11:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Thanks for the help.
Ill try it and see what happens.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 09-28-2005, 01:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 474
Default

dam, trotter you said everthing that i could say it.
nuke is offline  
Old 09-28-2005, 10:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

I have tried what you said, but I didnt notice any improvement. Any other ideas?
Vybuni is offline  
Old 09-29-2005, 12:03 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 40
Default

Come on be honest! Did you really try Microsoft Bootvis? If you did there should be no problem.
__________________
\"No matter how deeply troubled you are, you can always change if you\'re willing.\"
Brentb2607 is offline  
Old 09-29-2005, 02:23 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

I downloaded and installed Bootvis, but what am i supposed to do with it?
__________________

Vybuni is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.