Very simple wiring issue - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-12-2018, 08:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
danhodge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 297
Send a message via Skype™ to danhodge
Default Very simple wiring issue

Hey, so i bought the CamJam Edukit 3 for my RPI, and it has illuminated a very simple issue i have: I suck at wiring. I've never done it before, and the instruction in building the robot which says "connect the wire to the controller screw terminals" just aint working for me. I can get the wire in a little, but it wont stay there (it falls out when i let go). I'm assuming this is a me problem, but it is a different motor controller board than in all the images and guides, so maybe they sent the wrong board?

Here's the image of the wire next to the port it's supposed to go into. Is it literally as simple as it should be pushing the wire in as hard as possible, or is there a trick to it that I need to be using?



In case it helps at all, this is the workbook guide that shows how to build it:
https://github.com/CamJam-EduKit/Edu...0a%20Robot.pdf

Any help would be thoroughly appreciated, I just want to get programming on this bad boy

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Interested in programming, AI, game development, and robotics.
Talented in none of the above.
danhodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2018, 08:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,648
Default Re: Very simple wiring issue

Is the wire you're using just a jumper wire (i.e. not connected to anything at both ends)? If so, just get thicker (lower gauge) wire. Then you should be able to insert it into the terminal and tighten the screw down.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2018, 08:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
danhodge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 297
Send a message via Skype™ to danhodge
Default Re: Very simple wiring issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Is the wire you're using just a jumper wire (i.e. not connected to anything at both ends)? If so, just get thicker (lower gauge) wire. Then you should be able to insert it into the terminal and tighten the screw down.
Oh dear, you just have to tighten the screw over the top of it? Well that's embarrassing, i've been messing about with this for ages
Yeah that works, let us never mention this again
Thanks
__________________
Interested in programming, AI, game development, and robotics.
Talented in none of the above.
danhodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2018, 09:51 AM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,648
Default Re: Very simple wiring issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by danhodge View Post
Oh dear, you just have to tighten the screw over the top of it? Well that's embarrassing, i've been messing about with this for ages
Yeah that works, let us never mention this again
Thanks
Lol. Well that's why it's called a "screw terminal"
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2018, 04:57 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
danhodge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 297
Send a message via Skype™ to danhodge
Default Re: Very simple wiring issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Lol. Well that's why it's called a "screw terminal"
Yeaah, that probably should've been obvious
__________________
Interested in programming, AI, game development, and robotics.
Talented in none of the above.
danhodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USB microphone wiring issue CrazyTrain Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-26-2012 08:12 AM
Is it a wiring issue? lightbulbsun Internet Software and Browsers 2 09-23-2009 12:20 PM
very very very slow comp l3abyl3lue2004 HijackThis Logs (finished) 3 12-27-2005 02:45 AM
Simple is as simple does. Ebato Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 06-06-2004 10:44 AM
Very, very, very cruel joke. shan Off Topic Discussion 17 11-11-2003 12:08 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.