Very Serious Problem with my comp. Serious Hardware Problem. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-18-2006, 06:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 81
Send a message via AIM to Zyzyoro
Default Very Serious Problem with my comp. Serious Hardware Problem.

Okay, I'll tell as much detail as possible because I would really like to know what the problem is.

Here are my specs:
1GB of RAM (2 512's)
3.40 Ghz Pentium 4 Processor
ASUS Motherboard
200GB Hardrive
Windows Professional w/ SP2
128MB Graphics Card
(ask if this isnt enough)

A week ago, my computer was working perfectly fine. As i was opening My Documents, my monitor screen pixelized and my computer froze. I re-booted up Windows and when I got into the logon screen, I saw the pixelized screen again and my computer froze. I repeated this 3 times, then I booted Windows in safe mode. When I got to the logon screen everything was pixelized so oddly. It was like: I the right half of my screen was on the left and the left half was on the right. My computer didn't freeze however. I was still able to makeout where my cursor was, and I logged in. Everything was still pixelized and half parts of the screen on opposite sides as mentioned earlier. I plugged in my external hardrive and was able to backup most of my data, although it was very difficult to navigate. At some points I saw two cursors. The reason I wasn't able to backup all my data was because my computer suddenly froze then the screen went black. (I had already backed up my most important data.) I turned off my computer manually and turned it back on after waiting a few minutes.

After I turned on my computer, nothing was appearing on my monitor except the "monitor not connected symbol". I checked if there was a problem with my monitor by testing it on my parent's computer and it worked fine. I tested my parent's monitor on my computer but it didn't work. I then concluded that there was a problem with my graphics card. - It most likely overheated.

I purchased a 256MB Graphics Card, and replaced it with my old one. I turned on my computer, and nothing came up. I then, turned on my computer again, and it was working. I saw my BIOS screen. I then attempted to re-install Windows Professional. However, into the setup it froze when it said, "Setup is starting up Windows". I waited 2 hours for the screen to change, so I figured it froze. I rebooted manually, and tried again. I repeated this over 20 times, each with a different result. Sometimes I was able to get further into the setup than other attempts. I also couldn't boot from my C: Drive because it said it was corrupted. I gave up. I waited till the next day. I booted my comp and I realized that now my comp is freezing when I get at the BIOS screen. I can't get past my BIOS screen. F8, F2, TAB, etc. WON'T WORK. However, there is a rare occasion I was able to at least get into my BIOS setup, but freezing after I try to boot from my Windows XP disk.

So, right now I'm posting this in the hopes someone here can help me. My conclusion is that something else in my computer must have overheated or malfunctioned.

What could have been the problem.
__________________

__________________
<--Comp down-->
I\'m not sure what happened. Go here for more details:
<a href=\"http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=102641\">Click</a>
Zyzyoro is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 07:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Zyzyoro
(ask if this isnt enough)
what graphic card is it exactly?
whats your psu? brand/model (look on its sticker)

the psu or mobo are likely at fault , check mobo for bad capacitors (and i suggest youll use a flashlight , so you wont miss something) see examples
http://home.earthlink.net/~doniteli/index27.htm
http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.cfm?articleID=195
__________________

jeremy is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 07:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 81
Send a message via AIM to Zyzyoro
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jeremy
what graphic card is it exactly?
whats your psu? brand/model (look on its sticker)

the psu or mobo are likely at fault , check mobo for bad capacitors (and i suggest youll use a flashlight , so you wont miss something) see examples
http://home.earthlink.net/~doniteli/index27.htm
http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.cfm?articleID=195
it was a nvidia graphics card. what's psu? power supply? and yeah, im sure there's something wrong with my mobo.

also, where on my moboare these capacitors located? everywhere?
__________________
<--Comp down-->
I\'m not sure what happened. Go here for more details:
<a href=\"http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=102641\">Click</a>
Zyzyoro is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 07:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

by *exactly* i meant which , like geforce 6600 for example , also i meant the current one not the older
yeah psu = power supply unit , its on most of it
jeremy is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 10:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 81
Send a message via AIM to Zyzyoro
Default

actually, it was a geforce 6600. the new one i got is a nvidia.
__________________
<--Comp down-->
I\'m not sure what happened. Go here for more details:
<a href=\"http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=102641\">Click</a>
Zyzyoro is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 02:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 81
Send a message via AIM to Zyzyoro
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jeremy
what graphic card is it exactly?
whats your psu? brand/model (look on its sticker)

the psu or mobo are likely at fault , check mobo for bad capacitors (and i suggest youll use a flashlight , so you wont miss something) see examples
http://home.earthlink.net/~doniteli/index27.htm
http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.cfm?articleID=195
I checked all the capacitors. Nothing is wrong with them. I double checked.
__________________
<--Comp down-->
I\'m not sure what happened. Go here for more details:
<a href=\"http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=102641\">Click</a>
Zyzyoro is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 03:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

what about answers to those 2 questions? and again regarding the graphic card i mean the GPU model not wether its nvidia/ati
jeremy is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 05:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 81
Send a message via AIM to Zyzyoro
Default

wait. i have new info.

the graphiocs card might not have even mattered.

i was recently able to bootup my BIOS and i looked over all my devices. It had a list of IRQ's, Serials, etc. It said so\me were just recently installed, and I know I didn't evem touch them. And I also noticed that some of my devices were missing. Does this mean my mobo for some reason cannot access all the devices?
__________________
<--Comp down-->
I\'m not sure what happened. Go here for more details:
<a href=\"http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=102641\">Click</a>
Zyzyoro is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 06:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

to be honest without a picture & mobo model i really cant say much about it

what about those 2 question ^? its really hard to help without answers
jeremy is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 10:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 62
Send a message via AIM to robertconley619
Default

jeremy, he said the thing was a geforce 6600,as for the power supply he didn't say. However I think I may have figured out the problem with the video card. I think you may have a faulty connector with the card and your monitor doesn't like it. As for the motherboard problem, answer Jeremy's question so we can figure it out.
__________________

__________________
My rig............

Biostar NF4ST-A9
AMD 3200+ sckt 939
1 gig of corsair value ram
250 gig sata150 WD hard drive
Dynex 5.1 sound card
Evga 6600 256mb Pci-E video card
robertconley619 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.