Very high CPU temps.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-12-2006, 09:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Very high CPU temps..

I just built a new computer.

ABit UL8 motherboard
AMD Athlon 3200+ 2.0GHz CPU
One side 80mm fan, one top 80mm fan, one rear 120mm fan

According to the ABit EQ, my CPU is running at 75*C, about 167*F

This is bad. This is right from the box, so everything is stock.

My system is running about 21*C, but my CPU is 75*.

I didn't put any thermal paste on the CPU/heatsinc, because there appeared to be some on the heatsinc already. Should I put some thermal paste on?

My fan setup is:
Side 80mm - intake
Top 80mm - exhaust
Rear 120mm - exhaust

But I really don't think fan placement will set my CPU that to 75*C.

It is 75*C at idle, by the way.

Any help is extremely appreciated, thanks.
__________________

CrazeD is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 09:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Actually, I think I'm OK.

I checked in my BIOS and it says my CPU is at 21*C, so I guess maybe my program is messed up or something.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 09:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Are you using a program that came with your board? Try using MotherBoard Monitor 5 (MBM5) i find it usually work's better than most.
Shumway is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 10:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Yeah, it's ABIT EQ.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 11:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Sweet, my ABIT EQ is now at normal temps.

I guess I'm all set.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.