Using SATA - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-19-2007, 07:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12
Default Using SATA

Hi,

I've just finished building a PC and am now in the stages of installing an OS (XP).
However, I am having a hard time installing it because of my SATA hard drive and CD Rom.
My motherboard came with a driver CD (incl. SATA drivers). But I was told to install motherboard drivers AFTER OS installation. Even if I do try to install the driver before OS, it does not work.

I can't install the Windows XP because my motherboard is not detecting the CD-drive. So I replaced my SATA CD-drive with an IDE, and popped XP in.
But then it did not register the hard drive (because it is SATA), so it did not proceed with Windows setup.

After doing some research, I got a floppy disk (one was not included with my motherboard) and went to Gigabyte's website to download a driver to put on the floppy disk.
I thought maybe this would work, but it is not registering the floppy disk, either.

I tried extracting MENU.exe from the CD driver onto the floppy disk and that did not work either.
Do I have to do something with the hard drive? Is it possible to install XP using my SATA CD-drive?

I've exhausted all my resources and I would greatly appreciate help.

Thanks, and feel free to ask for information about anything.

Motherboard -
GIGABYTE GA-M61P-S3 Socket AM2 NVIDIA GeForce 6100 ATX AMD Motherboard

Hard drive -
WD Caviar SE16 250GB SATA 3.0 gb/s (OEM)
__________________

dwu182 is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 07:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
TRDCorolla1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: California
Posts: 383
Default Re: Using SATA

I would make sure the SATA hard drive is in the first slot. Then go into the BIOS and try to access the way it boots. Have it boot off the CD ROM first then the SATA hard drive.

Make sure the CD ROM is set to the Primary Master (jumper).
__________________

__________________
Today is yesterday's future....
TRDCorolla1 is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 07:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Web Programmer
 
murdocsvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 896
Default Re: Using SATA

for a sata drive and XP install i found the following process worked:

set bios to boot on CD, then on Hard drive. put the floppy disk in. then when it boots on the CD and starts XP installation, the screen should go blue, and itll say "press F6 to install SCSI/RAID drivers" or something like that. press F6 QUICKLY because youll lose the option in a few seconds. then itll ask you to specifiy what drivers are needed for SATA. you should then have a choice of Raid controller and Raid driver. press enter on one of them, then press s again to specify another driver, and then press enter on the other driver. if there are more drivers required, repeat above steps to install rivers for those too. then XP installation will ask you which drive you want to install it on, then itll partition the disk. then the installation should work fine. if that works, then use the floppy disk to install the drivers in XP.

tell me how it goes.
__________________
PHP + MYSQL, ASP.Net + C# with SQL, WCF, Python, XHTML + CSS, HTML5, JavaScript, jQuery, Flash + ActionScript 3, XML, SVG.

Web Developer Portfolio
murdocsvan is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 09:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12
Default Re: Using SATA

Great, it works now. Thanks to both of you for lending your advice.
dwu182 is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 01:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
TRDCorolla1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: California
Posts: 383
Default Re: Using SATA

Your welcome. If you have any more questions about anything even non-computer related, come back on here.
__________________
Today is yesterday's future....
TRDCorolla1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ECS 755-A2 and WD 320gb Sata II harddrive issue. bazooka Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 08-17-2007 06:18 AM
SATA hdd plugs BonKerz New Systems | Building and Buying 2 08-04-2007 07:15 PM
ide and sata HD recognition problem vtgolf Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 08-01-2007 10:58 AM
SATA HDD Freezing computer PersianMafia Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-27-2007 04:19 PM
SATA hard drive not recognized in Windows XP setup bcase21 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 03-31-2007 12:40 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.