Using a PCIEx16 card in a PCIEx1 slot - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-23-2007, 12:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 6
Default Using a PCIEx16 card in a PCIEx1 slot

Is it possible to run a PCI Express x16 video card in a PCI Express x1 slot? What would some of the drawbacks be? Thanks.
__________________

drwho1986 is offline  
Old 10-23-2007, 01:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Using a PCIEx16 card in a PCIEx1 slot

it would run at 1/16 of the speed , if at all I believe it would work though they work in x4 and x8 slots but just with a high loss in performance. Why would you want to waste money on a card that doesn't work with your system anyway???
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 10-23-2007, 01:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: Using a PCIEx16 card in a PCIEx1 slot

You may aswell use one of these:

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!
__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 10-23-2007, 03:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Using a PCIEx16 card in a PCIEx1 slot

performance would suck terribly.

8x PCI express is the lowest I would go (in fact with current cards there's barely any difference between 8x and 16x)
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 10-23-2007, 03:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Using a PCIEx16 card in a PCIEx1 slot

its gonna work.. but its gonna be ultra slow..
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-23-2007, 03:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Using a PCIEx16 card in a PCIEx1 slot

i have a 1x slot might give it a go
Nick is offline  
Old 10-23-2007, 05:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Using a PCIEx16 card in a PCIEx1 slot

Thanks for the replies. I'm thinking about upgrading to a mobo with a x16 slot, how much work would that be? Just about the same as installing a new video card?
drwho1986 is offline  
Old 10-23-2007, 05:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Using a PCIEx16 card in a PCIEx1 slot

more than that...

you need to unscrew the Mobo, Pull off the Heatsink, the CPU and HD's and stuff, but make sure you put you CPU and Heatsink first, then switch it out..
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-23-2007, 09:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: Using a PCIEx16 card in a PCIEx1 slot

check out this article: Overclockers Australia - Modding a PCI-E 16x card to work in a 1x slot AND in a 16x slot
Nitestick is offline  
Old 10-23-2007, 09:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Using a PCIEx16 card in a PCIEx1 slot

^ b4 i read that.. i expected it to be like what this guy did:

http://www.techist.com/forums/f77/nv...nt-work-63893/
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VGA Card in Second PCI-E Slot Grievearz New Systems | Building and Buying 7 09-20-2007 02:43 PM
Desktop WiFi Card Doesn't Fit In PCI Slot? UsernameTaken Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 11 09-09-2007 09:42 PM
Conflict between PCI Video card and PCI Wireless Network Adapter otaku_mike Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 06-13-2007 01:01 PM
Sandisk memory card will not work in my laptop , but i have the slot for it???? chaznad Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 03-26-2007 08:10 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.