using partition magic 8 to clone a hard drive help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-19-2007, 10:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 164
Default using partition magic 8 to clone a hard drive help

i bought a new hard drive to replace an old one except i didnt want to do a clean install just wanted to upgrade to a larger drive.
i got partition magic 8 (from a friend) and i copied the main partition onto the new drive following this guide
How to Ghost Copy Clone Duplicate Hard Drives Ghosting Cloning Duplicator Partition Magic 8 Symantec Norton Ghost Ranish Partition Manager-Best Computer Online Store Houston Buy Discount Prices Texas-Directron.com
i set the partition to be a primary partition and unhidden. i left the rest of the drive as unallocated space (figured i could just format it once i got the new drive going)
everything was copied successfully (i know because i can see the files through windows explorer) but it wont boot from the new drive.
gives me a boot fail press f1 to retry or f2 for setup (f2 takes me to bios)
does it matter that its a dell?
any suggestions would be appreciated and thanks in advance

Edit: i found out by reading the powerquest help file (f1) that the partition must be set to "active"
i dont think ive done that so i will try and post back if it worked or not

Edit: ok i tried it yesterday and although the drive was recognized as an active partition it gave me an error saying there was no operating system
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3700 (San Diego)
MSI K8N Neo4-F
Corsair 2GB (2x1GB)
GeForce 7900 GT
Maxtor 120GB 7200RPM Ultra-ATA/133
Western Digital Caviar SE 320GB 7200RPM ATA/100
Onboard Realtek AC\'97 Audio Controller
---
Oh and btw I\'m a Tennis SuperStar!!
jjrodezno is offline  
Old 03-20-2007, 05:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: using partition magic 8 to clone a hard drive help

The easiest way to do what you want is to use Norton ghost. Its soooo easy. You just need to make 2 ghost floppies to boot from. or you can use the CD ROM also.
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 03-20-2007, 08:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: using partition magic 8 to clone a hard drive help

Send me a private message and I can help you out.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 03-20-2007, 11:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: using partition magic 8 to clone a hard drive help

it's easier to boot from the pm cd and clone it then. never clone from ide to sata or vice versa
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 03-20-2007, 11:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 164
Default Re: using partition magic 8 to clone a hard drive help

i had initially thought of getting ghost to clone the hdd but opted against it because all the guides i read required floppy disks and i dont have a floppy drive haha
but if it comes in cd format too then it shouldnt be a problem
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3700 (San Diego)
MSI K8N Neo4-F
Corsair 2GB (2x1GB)
GeForce 7900 GT
Maxtor 120GB 7200RPM Ultra-ATA/133
Western Digital Caviar SE 320GB 7200RPM ATA/100
Onboard Realtek AC\'97 Audio Controller
---
Oh and btw I\'m a Tennis SuperStar!!
jjrodezno is offline  
Old 03-20-2007, 11:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: using partition magic 8 to clone a hard drive help

Quote:
Originally Posted by jjrodezno View Post
i had initially thought of getting ghost to clone the hdd but opted against it because all the guides i read required floppy disks and i dont have a floppy drive haha
but if it comes in cd format too then it shouldnt be a problem
it does. you can use either program. what's your hard drive type?
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.