Using headphones with an X Fi soundcard - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-12-2007, 12:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Default Using headphones with an X Fi soundcard

I just sold my speakers and now i have none to replace them so i need to use headphones with my x fi xtrememusic. which port to i plug the headphones in on the soundcard, and do i need to change any settings?
__________________

__________________
slick_tech15 is offline  
Old 08-12-2007, 01:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Using headphones with an X Fi soundcard

Try plugging them into all the holes and see which one you'll hear music with?
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-12-2007, 01:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Camshaft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 58
Default Re: Using headphones with an X Fi soundcard

the green port and then change your settings to headphone for best quality
__________________
AMD X2 4200
ASUS M2N - e
1gb A data DDR2 667
6600GT
CPU-Z Validator
Camshaft is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 01:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Default Re: Using headphones with an X Fi soundcard

i tried the green port but that doesn't work. so there is definitely something up with my settings on my computer? anyone have any tips?
__________________
slick_tech15 is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 03:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 36
Default Re: Using headphones with an X Fi soundcard

usually the green is the one you'd use for headphones. try the other ones, just incase you or something switched the purposes around. if all of them don't work, then you need to go to the settings and try and select one of the outputs for headphones.
rhode2nowere is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 11:21 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Using headphones with an X Fi soundcard



also, go to start -> run
run "sndvol32" (without quotes)
make sure it's not mute, or turned all the way down
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Linking case audio to soundcard? Sydzy Overclocking and Modding 5 08-02-2007 01:46 AM
Headphones built in 5.1 Krustis Computer Audio and Multimedia 4 05-31-2007 03:58 AM
looking for nice headphones Ronnie New Systems | Building and Buying 8 04-29-2007 09:09 PM
Cheepish Headphones Help. Oreo Computer Audio and Multimedia 23 04-13-2007 06:38 PM
Soundcard Installation Help Whirlwind New Systems | Building and Buying 4 03-24-2007 03:10 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.