Using Gparted to reformat a corrupted HD? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-08-2010, 10:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Troll Patrol
 
JoshuaJay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Over the Rainbow
Posts: 295
Default Using Gparted to reformat a corrupted HD?

Hey guys,

I'm trying to fix a corrupted HD that I'd like to re-use on my new PC.

I found out about Gparted so I mounted it to a disc and have that all good to go.

I wiki'd the program to learn, and I know how to boot from the disc and get to the partition menu, but no idea what to do from there.

I am new to partitions and bios... All I want to do is make the HD bare for a fresh OS install.

Any easy tips?

Edit: Junior Techie now, nice.
__________________

JoshuaJay is offline  
Old 06-08-2010, 12:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Using Gparted to reformat a corrupted HD?

http://www.techist.com/forums/f9/gpa...torial-224994/
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 06-08-2010, 01:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Troll Patrol
 
JoshuaJay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Over the Rainbow
Posts: 295
Default Re: Using Gparted to reformat a corrupted HD?

Awesome, I searched the internet for something like that but couldn't find it. Guess it was here all along!

Thanks Carnage.
JoshuaJay is offline  
Old 06-08-2010, 02:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Using Gparted to reformat a corrupted HD?

No problem, glad to help.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GParted Usage Tutorial KSoD Official TF Tutorials 11 01-28-2011 03:33 PM
Copy partitions with gparted Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 06-03-2010 08:25 AM
What is the best software to reformat a corrupted hard drive? soarwitheagles Microsoft Windows and Software 10 01-24-2010 02:12 PM
How do I reformat a partition that has a corrupted version of Windows Vista Ultimate? soarwitheagles Microsoft Windows and Software 7 10-12-2009 06:16 PM
Understanding GParted - Or, well, I'm trying to. Jayce Linux and Open Source 0 11-23-2008 12:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.