Using front microphone jack when a sound card is installed - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-24-2009, 06:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Using front microphone jack when a sound card is installed

My speakers are plugged into the sound card in the back, and I am able to plug my headphones into this little audio controller I have out front if I want to use that. The mic part of the cord can't reach the back, so I have to use the front. Is there a way to get the front ports working using the soundcard drivers, or do I have to enable the onboard sound drivers, then running two sets of sound drivers. When I do this, will my sound card drivers be the ones dominating? I don't want my card to go to waste because of this.
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7 920
GPU: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Ram: 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
Mobo: ASUS P6T
PSU: 750W PC Power & Cooling
Druid is offline  
Old 03-24-2009, 06:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: Using front microphone jack when a sound card is installed

What soundcard is it? I know my audio drivers allow me to enable/disable the front audio ports.

It depends on where your front audio ports are plugged into though, if they're plugged into the motherboard then I suppose the CPU would probably be doing the work, and if they're plugged into your sound card then the sound card will do the work.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 03-24-2009, 06:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Using front microphone jack when a sound card is installed

what sound card?
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 03-24-2009, 07:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: Using front microphone jack when a sound card is installed

Newegg.com - Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer 7.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Interface Sound Card - Sound Cards
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7 920
GPU: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Ram: 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
Mobo: ASUS P6T
PSU: 750W PC Power & Cooling
Druid is offline  
Old 03-25-2009, 01:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Using front microphone jack when a sound card is installed

Do you have the front panel connections into the card itself? Take a peek here.
Creative Worldwide Support

It used the hd audio connections not the AC97. the link shows you the pin assignments if you do not have a standard front panel connector.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 03-25-2009, 02:53 AM   #6 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Using front microphone jack when a sound card is installed

plug in the front panel connectors to the sound card's front panel connection
labeled here



thanks newegg for picture
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 03-25-2009, 04:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default Re: Using front microphone jack when a sound card is installed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fat.Clown View Post
plug in the front panel connectors to the sound card's front panel connection
labeled here



thanks newegg for picture
NICE! lol, I'm going to do that for mine also. I've always used the back on the card, but using the front panel connector might be nice for my headphone and mic.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 03-25-2009, 05:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Puressence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 137
Default Re: Using front microphone jack when a sound card is installed

Not to hijack, but how much processing power so-to-speak is required of the CPU (for sound) if one decides not to go with a soundcard? I am primarily only using headphones and thought I'd be okay with onboard sound.
-Pure
Puressence is offline  
Old 03-25-2009, 05:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Using front microphone jack when a sound card is installed

With today's cpu's it is just a drop in the bucket.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 03-25-2009, 10:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: Using front microphone jack when a sound card is installed

I plugged the HD audio cable into the front panel connector, but I still can't get my pc to detect my mic. When I plug the headphone part of the headset into the the front audio jack, I can hear what was coming from my speakers, but it still isn't detecting my mic. I don't have to plug anything into that SPDIF thing, do I?

Nvm, Vista and its silliness strikes again.
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7 920
GPU: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Ram: 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
Mobo: ASUS P6T
PSU: 750W PC Power & Cooling
Druid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FEAR 2 feb 2009 Poizen22 PC Gaming 114 02-18-2009 11:11 AM
How to tell a good Sound card? Ethan_Kaizer Computer Audio and Multimedia 5 01-14-2009 01:43 PM
Problems with X-fi Xtreme music sound card, no sound.. Joeyboy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 12-26-2008 01:50 PM
Sound Card Tips EricB Computer Audio and Multimedia 2 02-18-2008 01:37 AM
PS3 surround sound through computer sound card. JimJackson Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 02-13-2008 08:07 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.