using 2 soundcards - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-17-2008, 05:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Default using 2 soundcards

hi all, i was wondering if anyone could help me
i want to get 2 soundcards running at once, and ive been told it can happen

im trying to use a PCI souncard and the onboard soundcard at the same time, but if i install one then the other will just be like automatically disabled, anything special i need to do to get them both working at the same time? cheers
__________________

gromit5432 is offline  
Old 10-17-2008, 05:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: I live in Arlington, Tx
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to CasperPyro
Default Re: using 2 soundcards

Look at some home recording websites. They'll have info on multiple soundcards in one box.
__________________

CasperPyro is offline  
Old 10-17-2008, 05:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
advancedgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to advancedgeek Send a message via MSN to advancedgeek Send a message via Yahoo to advancedgeek
Default Re: using 2 soundcards

are you trying to set up a multiple sound card to have better performance like having multiple graphics card to have SLI?
__________________
Graphics card: Inno3D Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTS @ 640/940 (core/memory)
MB: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 v3.3 F12
RAM: 2 Kingston HyperX DDR2 800MHz (4GB total)
CPU: Core 2 Duo E6320 @variable rates (will fix my fan problem soon and overclock high again)
HSF: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme & Antec Tricool 120mm fan
PSU: Delta Serverpower 550W
HD: Seagate 400GB ST340032AS & Excelstor 80GB (both SATA)
Case: don't know what case it is but it is very crappy
Optical Drive: Lite-on 16X DVD+&- RW DL (died) using a CD-ROM drive until I get a new blu ray burner or whatever i can get


http://web26.hopto.org:443/

**been afk from tech-forums for a while so this is the updates specs**
advancedgeek is offline  
Old 10-17-2008, 05:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: using 2 soundcards

Quote:
Originally Posted by advancedgeek View Post
are you trying to set up a multiple sound card to have better performance like having multiple graphics card to have SLI?
nah, im hoping it will be a temporary solution to multi-channel recording
gromit5432 is offline  
Old 10-19-2008, 07:05 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: using 2 soundcards

anyone? help?
gromit5432 is offline  
Old 10-19-2008, 08:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: using 2 soundcards

multiple sound cards - Google Search

I am sure you will find something there.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sound Card Tips EricB Computer Audio and Multimedia 2 02-18-2008 01:37 AM
new to soundcards... advice plz. smiley73 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 07-02-2007 11:00 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.