Use onboard video instead of video card? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-07-2006, 02:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default Use onboard video instead of video card?

I'm working on this old Compaq and I can't get any video output. The video card is like an older AGP interfaced Nvidia TNT2 or something. It has onboard video but it's not working either. Is there anything special I need to do to get onboard video working? I took the video card out and plugged the cable into the onboard and the monitor still isn't getting any signal.
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 11-07-2006, 02:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

You need to go into the BIOS and make sure onboard video is enabled.
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 11-07-2006, 02:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

There's no video signal, so I can't see anything. I've tried reseting the CMOS.
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 11-07-2006, 02:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

doh! my bad hmm bad monitor maybe? could try lending one and testing.

normally here in work its either a monitor or graphics card thats dead. On occassion its the motherboard but its rare.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 11-07-2006, 03:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 351
Default

ive seen before that a computer will turn on but show no video when theres something wrong with the ram, try swapping the slots its in or replacing it
__________________
E6300 Core 2 Duo
GA-965P-DS3
2 Gbs OCZ PLatinum 800Mhz
250 Gb Western Digital
OCZ Modsteam 450W
7900GT Gainward
Flux Capacitor....SWEEEET
OatesyX is offline  
Old 11-07-2006, 06:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

I think the mobo is toast. I tried a different video card that I know works and still no luck.
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 11-07-2006, 06:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

To get the onboard to work again, If it has been manually disabled in the bios, all you need to do is reset the cmos and/or pull the battery. You have the same old no post problem, everyone thinks this is a video problem but it isn't.

Quote:
Its pretty simple to see if the motherboard is good or not. You just plug the mobo power supply connectors in and start it up (with nothing else hooked up, video cards, ram, hdd's etc) If it doesn't beep like a mofo at you then the board is NFG. alot of people make this mistake and think its the video card but they don't know that if the video card was bad the motherboard would beep at you. (if the internal speaker is hooked up.
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 11-07-2006, 07:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by FlashDude
To get the onboard to work again, If it has been manually disabled in the bios, all you need to do is reset the cmos and/or pull the battery. You have the same old no post problem, everyone thinks this is a video problem but it isn't.
Yeah, I have already narrowed it down to the motherboard. It has no speaker nor a place to even hook one up.

Yeah, I just took the mobo out and noticed a bunch of capacitors leaking and/or bulging out.
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 11-07-2006, 08:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 19
Default

If you're repairing computers often, you should get a post-code PCI/ISA card for troubleshooting board problem!

After you've tested everything just ask me a can give you one or two unconventional maner to revive your dead board :P
__________________

Dup84 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.