USB says port not 2.0, so? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-13-2008, 03:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 22
Default USB says port not 2.0, so?

I am running XP pro Intel Pentium CPU 2.6Hz 2.67 GHz 2 GB Ram with usb ports in front and when I plug my I phone in says this port is not 2.0
it does show charging thou

so is there a way to check whether these 2 usb ports in front is 2.0

turtle
__________________

TurtleSlo is offline  
Old 12-13-2008, 04:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: USB says port not 2.0, so?

If you plug in a USB2.0 device and it runs slowly, the port isn't 2.0. Windows should pop up saying "This Device can perform faster...blah blah blah...if you insert it into a USB2.0 port" or something like that. If that message comes up, it means the port isn't USB2.0. It should still work, just slowly. For your Pentium (P4 maybe?) board, you probably have USB2.0, but if the front ports are on a different controller or through a hub, it could be reduced to 1.1.
__________________

__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 12-13-2008, 05:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 22
Default Re: USB says port not 2.0, so?

ok, I did get that message saying plug into faster port,
BUT This is a added item that has all card readers and 2 usb ports that was listed on the box as 2.0 plus 8 card reader.

is there a way to find out on the Computer properties or device manger that says any info about this device on the front, there is 4 usb ports off the mother board (on back) and wall is being used,


turtle
TurtleSlo is offline  
Old 12-13-2008, 05:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default Re: USB says port not 2.0, so?

When you get the error message does it say there are USB 2.0 ports you can use? It should say the hub's in Bold are usb 2.0 or something like that. What is the Make and Model number of the Motherboard.
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 12-13-2008, 06:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 22
Default Re: USB says port not 2.0, so?

yes it did say there is more ports that have faster device, when I clicked on that it showed a USb Root, hub 8 ports device,

Can I display that jpeg on here?


so there is other 2.0 but where??

turtle
TurtleSlo is offline  
Old 12-13-2008, 06:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default Re: USB says port not 2.0, so?

Plug it into the back. If you don't get the message it is a 2.0 port.
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 12-13-2008, 06:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 22
Default Re: USB says port not 2.0, so?

same message, not really a error message just a notice saying there is a 8 port hub device that is faster,

so there si no way to find those devices on what there speed is??

Turtle
TurtleSlo is offline  
Old 12-13-2008, 07:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default Re: USB says port not 2.0, so?

Have you installed your chipset drivers? Try all of the ports on the back they are not necessarily on the same hub.
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 12-13-2008, 07:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 22
Default Re: USB says port not 2.0, so?

chipset drivers? which is, ? I had this PC built by a class project, and that was over a year ago, not to PC hardware savvy!!

turtle
TurtleSlo is offline  
Old 12-14-2008, 08:44 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: USB says port not 2.0, so?

Go to your device manager (control panel>system>hardware>device manager) and expand the Universal Serial Bus and see if any of them say something like Enhanced or USB2 or something. Take a screenshot if you're unsure. If it says Enhanced then you have USB2.0.

The chipset drivers are also known as the system drivers or motherboard drives. They basically need to be installed before all other component drivers because the PCI bus runs through the chipset.

You should be able to find them on your motherboard manufacturer's website.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USB 2.0 device is at USB 1.0 advancedgeek Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 06-01-2008 09:29 PM
new computer overheating jokka37 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 05-23-2008 02:36 AM
USB 2.0 Hard Drive Enclosure problem Beauford Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 01-13-2008 01:30 AM
usb mice randomly die by port. running out of ports! drewjustforyou Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-01-2007 03:27 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.