usb ports problem?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-19-2006, 08:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 33
Default usb ports problem??

I have a pc with 9 usb ports in the back there are 5 which are all taken up. There are 2 at the front and 2 on the side of the monitor.
All at the back are taken by my mouse,keyboard,printer,modem and monitor. (I think the monitor is there for the ports on the monitor) In the monitor I have an external hard drive.
I have a joypad, but when I plug in to either of the 2 ports at the front or the other one oon the monitor, on certain games the graphics will be very jerky. I have swapped them about at the back and the pad will work ok.
However I recently had to reinstall windows and I placed the usb devices back as I had them, but now the problem is back with the pad.
My question is, how can I correct this? or, if I buy a usb pci card and install it will this solve the problem.
I obviously have a conflict somewhere, but I dont get a report of any in windows.

Thankyou
__________________

artyman is offline  
Old 10-19-2006, 11:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

The monitor is probably a USB 1.1 (lower speed) hub.

If it's in your budget range, I recommend picking up a USB PCI card, or a USB 2.0 hub to make everything more smooth.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 10-19-2006, 01:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
The monitor is probably a USB 1.1 (lower speed) hub.
If it's in your budget range, I recommend picking up a USB PCI card, or a USB 2.0 hub to make everything more smooth.
nope, no need for that:
Quote:
Originally posted by artyman
All at the back are taken by my mouse,keyboard,printer,modem and monitor. (I think the monitor is there for the ports on the monitor)
essentialy he could unplug his monitor from the USB and use the port strait off his Comp instead.
----------------------

Read my last post at the bottom of this thread, it has parts that can pertain to yoru issue:
http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...5&pagenumber=5

irq referince link:
http://www.helpwithpcs.com/upgrading...q-settings.htm

and also, though it may not be causeing you any issue... just to avoid any: in device manager -->/start/run "devmgmt.msc" ....expand (universal serial bus contollers) and right click all the (root hubs) and in the /properties/power managment tab.... turn off "allow comp to turn this device off to save power" option.
jolancer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.