USB ports not working, please help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-27-2005, 12:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Default USB ports not working, please help

Hey guys, i have been using this MOBO (A8V-E Deluxe) for about 3 mounths, i have been running on the 2 usb ports on the front of my case which i plugged into the mobo when i got it. Now i want to use my back ones (4 ports) and they dont work..., i reformated yesterday and they still wont work. i am using windows xp home editon SP1. Is there anything i can do?

Thanks in advance, Ty
__________________

sockerty33 is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 12:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Go into the bios and make sure that the on-baord usb configuation is enabled. Sounds like the bios is not properly set up. When you go into the device manager and look at the reported USB bus do you see any exclamation points?? If they are not properly instaled you will need to brouse your mobo installation CD and find the USB hub drivers.
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 12:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Default

i checked in my bios and everything was enabled, under my devices nothing has a mark on it, its like evrythign is fine....here is pic
sockerty33 is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 01:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Hmmmmm.....install Sp2: download it here: http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=846
let me know what happens after the install.
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 01:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Default

ok, i dl and installed service pack 2. USB ports still not working...
sockerty33 is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 02:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Wow! I would try this. Remove the front port connectors to the mobo. Play close attention to the wiring protocol so you can reconnect the front USB ports. Do the rear ports now funciton?
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 06:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Default

i unplugged my front ones and now my back ones have ! on them in the device manager, where do i go from here?
sockerty33 is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 06:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Okay...now you need to update the USB dirvers form your Mobo installatin CD. The USB bridge needs the drivers installed. insert the Mobo installation cd rom (if you don't have it, download it from the manufacturers website) and then right click on the ! device in the device manager. HIt the update driver tab when promted and then select install form cd etc. when promted. System32 and the registry will then be updated and the uSB bridge should then work. Then I would try to install the front side USB bus once the rear is functional.
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 10:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Send a message via Yahoo to sasvirus
Default .....

what's your email add then rico?
__________________

sasvirus is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.