usb pci card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-29-2005, 09:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default usb pci card

i bought a usb pci card from circuit city, got home, put it in, installed drivers, and put in my jumpdrive... but i cant access my jump drive.. how do i find out where it is? its not on my computer or anywhere else.. wth?
__________________

Static_11 is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 09:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

do you see a safely remove hardware icon on your taskbar?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 10:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

no..
Static_11 is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 10:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

do you see the pci in device manager? is it 2.o or 1 and what is your usb drive?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 12:14 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

yea its in device manager and its both
Static_11 is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 04:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mike4realz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 404
Default

does your jumpdrive works on a different computer? cuz if u plug it in, it should show up. don't know why it doesn't on your computer
__________________

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83Ghz || 4GB OCZ 1066 DDR2 RAM || GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P Motherboard ||
PNY XLR8 GTX 470 || Raptor 300GB 10,000 RPM HDD RAID0 || Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
mike4realz is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 04:35 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

yeah it works.
Static_11 is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 04:46 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mike4realz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 404
Default

then it's ur usb card. have u tried other usb jumpdrives? or other usb devices?
__________________

__________________

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83Ghz || 4GB OCZ 1066 DDR2 RAM || GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P Motherboard ||
PNY XLR8 GTX 470 || Raptor 300GB 10,000 RPM HDD RAID0 || Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
mike4realz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.