USB mouse... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-11-2006, 03:34 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheMajor
Use a PS/2 adapter. Problem solved. PS/2 is more Plug-and-Play compatible than USB.
You mean use a PS/2 mouse with an adapter to USB?

Because my laptop has no PS/2 ports, a USB to PS/2 adapter wouldn't work...
__________________

WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 03:54 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by WorldIndustries
You mean use a PS/2 mouse with an adapter to USB?

Because my laptop has no PS/2 ports, a USB to PS/2 adapter wouldn't work...

What about a USB to PS/2 then PS/2 to USB


__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 04:03 PM   #13 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Lord AnthraX
What about a USB to PS/2 then PS/2 to USB


lol
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 04:05 PM   #14 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by WorldIndustries
You mean use a PS/2 mouse with an adapter to USB?

Because my laptop has no PS/2 ports, a USB to PS/2 adapter wouldn't work...
Well, I don't know if that would make a big difference, but you can try it. Maybe it will then detect it as a standard mouse, so it has less trouble finding the right drivers.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 06:27 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Mehh, I'm just going to get a new [better] USB mouse, and hopefully the problem was specific to the old one.
__________________

WorldIndustries is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.