USB mouse... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-09-2006, 04:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default USB mouse...

I'm trying to get a USB mouse to work on this laptop, an Acer Aspire 3500, but whenever I plug it into one of the ports, it just says "USB device not recognized". What's up with this? I hate using the touchpad, I can't do anything with it... Anyone know what's wrong/how to fix it?
__________________

WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 04:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default

Maybe your mouse needs a driver that your OS doesn't have. I hate the touchpad too.
__________________

__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 04:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

It works on my desktop computer with the exact same OS... I think the mouse is conflicting with the touchpad or something.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 06:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

restart it with the mouse plugged in
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 06:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

I will try thatt, and update you guys on the situation soon.

By the way... What's the difference between the Celeron M and the Pentium M processors? This Celeron M has 512Kb Cache, so it's definately not that...
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 06:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Didn't work.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 10-10-2006, 11:11 AM   #7 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default

Can you disable the touchpad first, then restart with the USB mouse attached? You do have the little nub in the keyboard right? Or know how to use the keyboard to get everywhere?
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 01:51 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Wouldn't you like to know?
Posts: 142
Default

On my dad's laptop there is a small button that turns off the touchpad.
sir nerdalot is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 10:45 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Mjmitch2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 152
Default

go to My Computer - Hardware Tab - Driver Signing button - click radio button to ignore.

remove USB mouse and reboot, when back in windows plug USB mouse back in to see if it recognizes it and installs it.

Hopefully this might work.
__________________
"Every great adventure is started by a single step"
------------------------------------------------
C2D e6300 @ 2.8Ghz w/ Zalman 9500
Gigabyte DS3 mobo
GeIL DDR2 800 (2x512)
EVGA 8600 GTS 256mb
WD 80GB SataII & WD 250GB SataII
MadDog DVD-CDRW 16x dual layer
Dual Acer 22' LCDs
Ultra X2 550 watt
Ultra Blue Aluminus ATX Mid-Tower Case
Mjmitch2 is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 10:51 AM   #10 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Use a PS/2 adapter. Problem solved. PS/2 is more Plug-and-Play compatible than USB.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.