USB Headset - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-21-2006, 01:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
Default USB Headset

Ok well I just bought a new usb headset. I plugged it in and I am completely satisfied with it. I have creative stereo speakers which I use all the time more than the headset but...I wanted to know if I could somehow direct my sound from my headset to my stereo speakers while the usb headset is plugged in? And another question is that my usb headset only seems to work when i have them first plugged in and i turn on my computer or restart my computer. If I have my computer on and i plug them in they will not work. Anyone have a clue?? THanks
__________________

AJCast05 is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 03:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Just keep them plugged in...you are asking your puter to reinstall the device to a USB port for which it is already assigned and you would then have to reboot with it connected to be recognized. All you need to do to patch to your stereo is to use a 1/4" to RCA
http://www.trianglecables.com/255-055.html

Then direct into your stereo via RCA Cables. Capice? The headset is unaffected by the soundcard out and patch cables.
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 03:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
Default

The plug in for the computer speakers is just a 1/4" Stereo Male speaker input it is the same as if it was a non usb headset. But I wanted to see If i could somehow direct my sound from my headset to my computer speakers without unplugging my headset. Oh and I am running on a laptop so my soundcard only has two inputs one for speakers and one for mic.
AJCast05 is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 03:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

First of all, your headset is not the issue. Jus patch the sound out from the card as explained above. If you want to run both computer speakers and Stereo amp you simply buy a 1/4" splitter. You are confusing yourself here. The headset and sound out are not connected directly. If you want to install a USB soundcard, that would accomplish the same thing....you would still need to patch to the stereo from a separate source different from the headset.
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 03:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
Default

I'm completely confused. So why would i have to buy a Stereo to a RCA connector if RCA has nothing to do with my sound system? And I tried your post but it confused me as well. Is there a way I could achieve the same result without buying anything extra?
AJCast05 is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 04:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Okay: Let me splain it better. you are using a USB headset which utilizes software to monitor sound. the output from your sound card is a hardware issue. There is no way, barring the purcahsing of a USB soundcard to throughput the audio to your stereo USB! All it takes is $5-$10 and a standard RCA Cable....Your headphones have nothing to do with getting your stereo signal to your stereo amplifier. Buy the 1/4" to RCA at Radio Shack. Plug an RCA stereo cable to the conversion jack (1/4" to RCA) and then plug the RCA cables into your stereo input! Now, If you want the computer speakers to function as well, just hook two splitters into the laptop sound card and run your puter speakers and stereo speakers from that jack (the soundcard jack on your laptop. Hopefully, you'll get the jist of what I am trying to communicate here.
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 04:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Ok...i think i might of confused you I am not running a stereo or a stereo amplifier. My computer speakers are directly plugged into my computer. My computer speakers simply plug in through a headphone jack just like they would on any sound card on any computer. So bearing that in mind and having my headset plugged in as well. Having them both plugged in is there a simple method through control panel or another program which i could dl that i could simply switch off sound from computer speakers to headset? If that is what you are trying to explain to me then sorry for my lack of knowledge but the way you are explaining it to me just does not make any sense. Sorry for the misunderstanding just trying to get this to work!!!
__________________

AJCast05 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.