usb device - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-29-2005, 06:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1
Default usb device

o/s 98se

I have a usb device {camera} which I share between computers. It does not start the 'eject unplug hardware' icon when plugged in and when I unplug it sometimes the pc crashes. Is there a way to force the 'eject un plug...' so it can be safely removed or is there a utility I can buy.

Thanks
__________________

howardkoch is offline  
Old 08-29-2005, 06:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

i dont think that is a feature of win 98se.
__________________

joshd is offline  
Old 08-29-2005, 07:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

nope, only on 2000 and above.
98 is far from great with USB devices, it was the first of Microsoft's OS's to support it.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-29-2005, 09:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 266
Send a message via AIM to VICone Send a message via Yahoo to VICone
Default

yeah for 98 you should just turn the comp off for that or at least upgrade =x
__________________
MCSA, MCP (070-210, 070-218, 070-215), A+, Network+, Security+<br>
<a href=\"http://profiles.myspace.com/users/17229411\" target=\"_blank\">MySpace</a> | <a href=\"http://mcmcse.com\" target=\"_blank\">MCMCSE</a> | <a href=\"http://brainbench.com\" target=\"_blank\">Brainbench : Free Certifications</a>
VICone is offline  
Old 08-29-2005, 10:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default

USB----hot swapable...

...hah
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 08-29-2005, 11:08 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by KMOTE
USB----hot swapable...

...hah
Huh?
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 08-29-2005, 11:28 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

ummm, not in 98 it isn't
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-29-2005, 11:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default

I have little experience with win 98 but i was under the impression that USB was designed to be hot swappable. it seems illogical to me that one of the primary properties is not utilised by the OS.
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 08-29-2005, 12:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by KMOTE
I have little experience with win 98 but i was under the impression that USB was designed to be hot swappable. it seems illogical to me that one of the primary properties is not utilised by the OS.
1. 98SE is discontinued and unsupported. It's outdated.

2. Support for USB on such an old platform as 98SE is "as is" and does not support hot-swapping. On newer platforms, hot swapping is supported. Not on 98SE.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 08-29-2005, 11:43 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

98se did not have an icon in the system tray. however if an icon appears in "my computer" for the camera, right click on it and it should have an option for "eject" or "stop device" or something like that.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.