usb cable modem/ router - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-22-2006, 02:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4
Default usb cable modem/ router

Specs :
DEll Dimension 8250 Desktop PC
ISP- Adelphia
Modem- SB5100 Cable Modem (connects by USB)
Netgear Wireless Router (model WGT624)

Problem:
When I try to run the netgear CD, I follow all the steps. Then, when its restarting my network, it says there is an error. (could not find internet connection.)
I think the problem is that my modem is connected to my pc by usb and it needs to be connected by ethernet. My modem has an ethernet port, but I have attempted to connect my modem to my ethernet port on my PC like 30 times. No Success.
My computer only seems to recognize the internet when My modem is connected by usb, which is a big problem.
I tried contacting Motorola support, but they suck. I already returned my linksys Wireless G (WRT54G) router because I thought that it was the router, not my modem. SO. Anyone that could help me would be incredible.

Setup:


PC----ROUTER----CABLEMODEM----CABLEJACKINTHEWALL sooo ghetto

PLEASE HELP!!!!
__________________

artie80 is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 02:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4
Default

OK. when I go to add a hardware device manager, My cable modem only shows up when its plugged un by usb. I tried to uninstall USB drivers and then reinstall my cable modem through ethernet, but My computer doesnt seem to recognize the connection via ethernet.
__________________

artie80 is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 10:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 116
Default

hmm well after your setup is connected like below
PC------>Router----->Cable modem.........

first of all try this disable the DHCP server from the configuration page http://192.168.100.1......if it works then ok other wise continue....

open your browser and enter http://192.168.100.1 ........... this is the pinging address for your cable modem if there is a response from the address and setup web opens then it means that it is connecting with the device ... the other issue may be with the MAC Address you may have to configure your router to allow the cable modems MAC address to work.... you may find the MAC Addresses in the device Manager... shows in the addresses tab of configuration page which you can open http://192.168.0.1 ...

and there may b one thing the isp provider may block new Ethernet MAC Addresses due to security reasons check this page it may be of help http://kbserver.netgear.com/kb_web_files/n101227.asp
Vnet is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.