USB 2.0 Not Working, Need Help/Advice - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-06-2006, 10:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to Gooseopher
Default USB 2.0 Not Working, Need Help/Advice

I've had this computer for a while but just not I'm trying to figure out why I cannot get it to see that I have the ability to have usb 2.0.

I know for a fact my mother board supports usb 2.0
it's a ASUS K8V SE Deluxe

I have the lastest windows service pack (which microsoft claims would fix the issues) and I've looked and installed drivers from asus' site.

I've had no luck, my computer still says I have no usb 2.0 ports installed. Any help would be great!

Thanks
__________________

Gooseopher is offline  
Old 03-06-2006, 10:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 66
Default

so you're saying that ur mobo has the 2.0 ports on it but windows no worky?
__________________

adamL is offline  
Old 03-06-2006, 10:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

what drives exactly have you installed?
check usb configuration in bios
jeremy is offline  
Old 03-06-2006, 10:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to Gooseopher
Default

My bios is set to hi-speed, so it isn't the bios limiting it.

I've checked the driver version and its an older one, yet I've tried to update via windows searching, as well as looking on asus' site and no luck.

currently it says I have

driver date: 01/07/2001
driver version: 5.1.2600.0

It's weird, I recently installed some usb 2.0 drivers from asus which were dated in 2003, so I'm confused as to what the issue is.
Gooseopher is offline  
Old 03-08-2006, 02:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to Gooseopher
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by adamL
so you're saying that ur mobo has the 2.0 ports on it but windows no worky?
Yes exactly.. it only sees them as 1.1
Gooseopher is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.