USB 2.0 device is at USB 1.0 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-01-2008, 10:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
advancedgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to advancedgeek Send a message via MSN to advancedgeek Send a message via Yahoo to advancedgeek
Default USB 2.0 device is at USB 1.0

When i tried to connect my digital camera (Panasonic LUMIX DMC-FS3) to my computer it doesn't recognize it as a usb 2.0 device and it seems to just recognize it as a standard usb device which probably is usb 1.0. My camera and my motherboard (Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3) both support USB 2.0 and it seems like my transfer rate is really slow and it takes like 2 mins to get a 80mb movie uploaded on my computer. I really need to know why this happens. I checked in the device manager and it shows that i have a USB 2.0 port but none of them are in use even when my camera is connected.
__________________

__________________
Graphics card: Inno3D Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTS @ 640/940 (core/memory)
MB: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 v3.3 F12
RAM: 2 Kingston HyperX DDR2 800MHz (4GB total)
CPU: Core 2 Duo E6320 @variable rates (will fix my fan problem soon and overclock high again)
HSF: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme & Antec Tricool 120mm fan
PSU: Delta Serverpower 550W
HD: Seagate 400GB ST340032AS & Excelstor 80GB (both SATA)
Case: don't know what case it is but it is very crappy
Optical Drive: Lite-on 16X DVD+&- RW DL (died) using a CD-ROM drive until I get a new blu ray burner or whatever i can get


http://web26.hopto.org:443/

**been afk from tech-forums for a while so this is the updates specs**
advancedgeek is offline  
Old 06-01-2008, 10:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: USB 2.0 device is at USB 1.0

Hello,

This is because the USB port on the Panasonic LUMIX DMC-FS3 operates at USB 2.0 Full Speed, which is up to 12 Megabits per second (1.5 Megabytes per second), not USB 2.0 Hi-Speed, which is up to 480 Megabits per second (60 Megabytes per second).

The way manufacturers advertise their USB devices can be misleading. Note that the USB 2.0 specification encompasses all USB data transfer speeds, and so 'USB 2.0' alone does not imply Hi-Speed data transfer rates.
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 06-01-2008, 05:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
advancedgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to advancedgeek Send a message via MSN to advancedgeek Send a message via Yahoo to advancedgeek
Default Re: USB 2.0 device is at USB 1.0

well wouldn't it still show up on USB2 port on device manager? I clicked on view then devices by connection which will show up which USB port is actually in use but it still uses the USB port not USB2.
__________________
Graphics card: Inno3D Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTS @ 640/940 (core/memory)
MB: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 v3.3 F12
RAM: 2 Kingston HyperX DDR2 800MHz (4GB total)
CPU: Core 2 Duo E6320 @variable rates (will fix my fan problem soon and overclock high again)
HSF: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme & Antec Tricool 120mm fan
PSU: Delta Serverpower 550W
HD: Seagate 400GB ST340032AS & Excelstor 80GB (both SATA)
Case: don't know what case it is but it is very crappy
Optical Drive: Lite-on 16X DVD+&- RW DL (died) using a CD-ROM drive until I get a new blu ray burner or whatever i can get


http://web26.hopto.org:443/

**been afk from tech-forums for a while so this is the updates specs**
advancedgeek is offline  
Old 06-01-2008, 09:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: USB 2.0 device is at USB 1.0

Hello,

No, not necessarily, since USB Full-Speed was first specified in the USB 1.0 specification.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new computer overheating jokka37 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 05-23-2008 02:36 AM
USB 3.0 Announced kurtowns Off Topic Discussion 19 03-07-2008 07:53 PM
Changed out MB, now USB 2.0 went to USB 1.0 how can I fix it? soarwitheagles Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 02-25-2008 09:26 AM
USB 2.0 Hard Drive Enclosure problem Beauford Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 01-13-2008 01:30 AM
USB 2.0 problems haroldthesage Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 09-18-2007 12:31 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.