usb **** - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-04-2007, 07:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 20
Angry usb nightmare

Hey all , i have a nightmare of a problem at the moment and its my **** usb ,it just wont let me use my little usb thingies like digital camera, card readers, usb sticks,mp3 player, however my mouse , printer, minidisc all fuction fine , the computer makes the little noise when you plug somthing in or take it out but its not there when i look for it in my computer , all tests show that all drivers are installed and upto date so i am at a complete loss and i am seriously debating on a format and new os install but am trying to avoid at all costs due to lenghty back up process , please help i would like to email my drunken nw yr photos to friends and family

wes
__________________

blade2006 is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 08:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Are you using the USB ports right on the motherboard, or ones on the front panel?

Sometimes front panel USB ports aren't as fast as the rear ones and some high-speed (USB 2.0) devices won't work in them.

When I plug my flash drive into my front USB ports I get a BSOD, lol.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 08:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 20
Default

oops sorry for not mentioning that , no unfortunatly its the both the front panel , and the mother board , thanks guys und girls
blade2006 is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 11:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 20
Default

ok , now i have just been looking around , and in the device manager i can find my mp3 player as a storage disk but at the same time i can not access it , weird
blade2006 is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 11:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
networkgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: TN
Posts: 367
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by blade2006
ok , now i have just been looking around , and in the device manager i can find my mp3 player as a storage disk but at the same time i can not access it , weird
try this. right click my computer, select manage.

disk management. then see if you see the device there but it is using a letter that is already taken maybe? right click the device in the right pane and change the drive letter.
networkgeek is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 11:54 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 20
Default

thanks mate for the advice ,, ok i managed to change the device letters to ones that were not used and by right clicking on them while in the management winow i can even open them , but when i open my computer with a standard left click it still will not show my new drives , at atleast now i can get my pics off my camera thanks heaps

wes
blade2006 is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 12:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
networkgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: TN
Posts: 367
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by blade2006
thanks mate for the advice ,, ok i managed to change the device letters to ones that were not used and by right clicking on them while in the management winow i can even open them , but when i open my computer with a standard left click it still will not show my new drives , at atleast now i can get my pics off my camera thanks heaps

wes
glad that it helped you some


yeah after you get your stuff off of there and get backed up I would suggest that reformat and reinstall. maybe.

have you tried at the run command /sfc scannow ?

that will run the system file checker. one thing you can try before you reformat
networkgeek is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 01:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 20
Default

hey all i just noticed somthing and i am not sure if it means anything but my harddisk is partiioned three ways equally with c: being the system disc d: storage and e: the boot disc , should not the boot disc and the system disc be one and the same thing
__________________

blade2006 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.