URGENT - how to copy hard disk to a new PC??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-14-2006, 02:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 16
Default URGENT - how to copy hard disk to a new PC???

Hi everyone:


I'm in a true bind over the following. I have a computer at the office, which I decided to upgrade with more RAM. As a result I think I fried the mainboard in it as it doesn't start anymore, even with the old RAM. The hard drive in it is intact and it contains lots of software several thousand $$ worth. It has Windows 2000 Pro installed and is broken on 2 partitions. Now I have another PC with a totally different hardware.

My first question is, what if I take the hard disk from a fried PC and put it into a new one? Will it work or will it crash without any chance of recovery. Again I'm not that worried about hardware as software.

Second question is, how to copy the entire hard drive to a new one?

Your help will be greatly appreciated!!! I don't have much time to fix that. I might easily get fired over it if I don't fix it. ANY IDEAS PLEASE!
__________________

dc2000 is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 02:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 190
Send a message via AIM to the yellow one
Default

get the the harddrive you want and get it in the one . the biggest thing is to open the case and install it and just let window automatically recognize it. harddrives that are formated by old OS and be read by XP's. once you got the things you like in the old one you can reformate the old one and get some space.
__________________

__________________
I am the yellow one.
the yellow one is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 08:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

The simplest solution is to replace the motherboard in the old computer with an identical one.

Are you sure its dead? have you tried resetting the CMOS?

If you must put this HDD into a different computer then I belive you will lose the installed programs and OS but should be able to recover other data once you've taken ownership of it.
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 11:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 16
Default

Thanks for response. No, I didn't try CMOS. How can I do that?
dc2000 is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 12:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

Ahh well in that case the board is still probably ok, take the battery out for about 20 minutes and, if you can find it short the appropriate jumper.

That will reset the CMOS so you will need to enter BIOS on bootup and confirm all the settings e.g. the processor clock and multiplier
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 01:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
LA1
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: eastcoast
Posts: 453
Default

Quote:
The simplest solution is to replace the motherboard in the old computer with an identical one.
this is correct


are you trying to fix the PC B4 someone finds out.
You have something in your OS called the HAL. Each one is different depending on your hardware. If you try and boot the hd in a different pc, at the minimal you will need new drivers...or you could bork the whole OS. Is there any special hardware the the software needed in the old pc. ? You may end up borking the software. if you just boot it in the new pc. Possible doing an inplace install might work.

i think just getting the same mainbord and new ram is better.
__________________
LA1 is offline  
Old 07-15-2006, 01:02 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 351
Default

http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/ get that and burn the image to a disc, put your hard drive into the new computer and boot from the disc, you should be able to sue one of the tools to clone your hard drive onto the new one,, this will erase all data and partitions on the new had, but you should get all your data back,, i did it with a f**ked hard drive that windows wouldnt recognise and got 50 gigs of data back,
__________________
E6300 Core 2 Duo
GA-965P-DS3
2 Gbs OCZ PLatinum 800Mhz
250 Gb Western Digital
OCZ Modsteam 450W
7900GT Gainward
Flux Capacitor....SWEEEET
OatesyX is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 02:51 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 16
Default

Thank you guys for all your help. I didn't reply right away as I was busy with my problem. Unfortunately, I wasn't able to resurect the motherboard, it looks like I indeed fried it somehow. (I know it as I made a test. I broght it into one of a local computer shops and asked the guy to pick memory for it. He told me that it's toast and does not respond.)

What I did, I had to copy all the partitions from original HDD into one of my hard drives (loosing all the data on my HDD, but that's OK), then placing it into one of my older computers and booting from it. I have to keep it this way (under the table, literally, until I buy a new board for them -- another headache) As someone predicted it did not boot this way. It simply hang where it says loading Windows forever.

After a few attempts to boot up in Simple Mode (or how they call it), I attempted to repair Windows. My problem was locating Windows 2000 Pro, as it's not that I had it either. Luckily one of the guys bailed me out and gave me his with a promise that I won't use his registration code for it. It took me another 3 hours of breaking sweat over repairing Windows. Now with some minor losses the software is restored.

Again my headache now is to locate the same exact motherboard or a similar one to put into old box and use original HDD, as obviously I'm not going to give them my computer for good.

Does anyone know where is the best place to buy a mother board and how to pick a similar one?

Mine is MSI 845E Max 2 (MS-6398E VER: 1)

THANKS AGAIN FOR YOUR SUPPORT!!!
__________________

dc2000 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.