Urgent Help Please - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-26-2006, 08:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 15
Default Urgent Help Please

i had a 3.33ghz celeron d cpu and i installed a 3.2ghz pentium d today and when i tried to power up my pc it won't stay on more than 5 seconds, i have no message on the screen either. i thought it was power problems so i disconnected my fans and fan controller, even one of the ram sticks and optical drives, but still nothing......what can i do now?
thanks in advance

aj_8920 is offline  
Old 10-26-2006, 09:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K

are u sure that u havn't touched the pins of the cpu?
if u havn't then ur mobo is having trouble accepting the cpu or the mobo might be oudated to run a pentium

1 more thing unplugging the fans from the system is ok unless u also unplugged the cpu fan then thats a different story.

P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 10-26-2006, 10:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 263

Could the new 3.2 be faulty? Have you tried putting the 3.33 back in to see if it would work properly with the old one?

Also, check your mobo, to see if any capacitors are domed or obviously blown; those would probably affect it, also.

penfold is offline  
Old 10-26-2006, 11:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

my guess is the motherboard doesn't support Pentium D processors.
Visit my website - nitestick.net
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 10-26-2006, 11:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
There and Back again
Nukem's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 4,334

Originally posted by nitestick
my guess is the motherboard doesn't support Pentium D processors.

Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70
NZXT Source 530 / i7-3770K / Corsair H100 / ASRock Z77 Extreme4 / SoundBlaster Recon3d
Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSD/Seagate 1TB/2TB/WD 2TB
4x4GB Corsair Vengeance 2133 / PNY GTX 980 ti/ Seasonic M12II 850W
Nukem is offline  
Old 10-26-2006, 11:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068

are there any jumpers or dip switches on the motherboard that need to be changed for a new processor? and does it work with the old one? can you give us the specs of ur system, like the ram, gpu, mobo, cpu(s) and the ps watts.
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 10-27-2006, 11:11 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 15

i plugged in the old cpu i had and still nothing, system will start but no response and it shuts down. i didn't touch the pins on the cpu that's for sure. i did not unlpug the cpu fan either, lol. i have 1gig ocz ram, 6800 geforce xtreme video card, i'll let you know about the mobo when i get home tonight, i had a 3.33ghz celeron D and i am installing a 3.2 pentium D now and i have a 450 watt ps that i bought with my xblade case, i also have 250gig hd and 2 dvd burners. Thanks for the help again.
aj_8920 is offline  
Old 10-27-2006, 03:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 15

ok my mobo is a abit NI8 SLI
aj_8920 is offline  
Old 10-27-2006, 03:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 15

oh and it does support pentium D, so i dunno why it's not...

aj_8920 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:25 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.