Upgrading SSD Issues - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-30-2015, 09:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Usa
Posts: 1
Default Upgrading SSD Issues

I have a ASUS ROG G751JT , Windows 8.1, with a 256gb SSD drive that I want to upgrade to a 500gb SSD. I used the cloning software provided with the new SSD but the new drive wont boot. It automatically goes to the blue recovery screen on startup and cant find any restore points or recovery image files on the other hard drive (1tb HDD).

What am I doing wrong?

Also I noticed the cloning software automatically designates the space allocation based on the partitions of the old drive. Over half of the new drive is partitioned for the d:? Is that necessary and is it possible to change that? my main reason for the upgrade is to get more c: space as I filled up the available 90gb pretty quickly.

I also noticed that after cloning, the clone has new designated drive letters, instead of c/d its H/I. Is this designation an issue even though I'm switching out the SSD's and restarting?

Any help is appreciated....
__________________

Roggrosse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2015, 09:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
cb600fshornet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: England, Birmingham
Posts: 361
Default Re: Upgrading SSD Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roggrosse View Post
I have a ASUS ROG G751JT , Windows 8.1, with a 256gb SSD drive that I want to upgrade to a 500gb SSD. I used the cloning software provided with the new SSD but the new drive wont boot. It automatically goes to the blue recovery screen on startup and cant find any restore points or recovery image files on the other hard drive (1tb HDD).

What am I doing wrong?

Also I noticed the cloning software automatically designates the space allocation based on the partitions of the old drive. Over half of the new drive is partitioned for the d:? Is that necessary and is it possible to change that? my main reason for the upgrade is to get more c: space as I filled up the available 90gb pretty quickly.

I also noticed that after cloning, the clone has new designated drive letters, instead of c/d its H/I. Is this designation an issue even though I'm switching out the SSD's and restarting?

Any help is appreciated....
You might have to run a chkdsk /r on the new SSD before you can boot from it. Whilst booting from the new SSD can you keep tapping F8 so you can get into the "Repair" options, you can also try the startup repair if you get to this menu.

The letter designation doesn't matter too much to be honest, you can change driver letters if you want anyway, so it's no big issue!

You can resize the partitions afterwards, just worry about getting the PC booted up from your new SSD first
__________________

cb600fshornet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2015, 01:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,509
Default Re: Upgrading SSD Issues

I'd use CloneZilla to clone the SSD over personally. You can clone the entire disk over and it should include he boot partition.

Then you can resize partitions after the clone and making sure it boots correctly. I recommend using a GParted Live CD to resize partitions as it gives a nice GUI to do it in.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2015, 10:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Default Re: Upgrading SSD Issues

Yeah, clone zilla should do the magic. I've upgraded my HDD with clone zilla. The system boot perfectly on the new HDD. As to partition software, I think free easus partition master is also good.
JamesandBennie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2015, 05:19 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
rulezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: Upgrading SSD Issues

Hey All! use clonezilla or AOMEI backupper which is what I use.
__________________
Don't like what I say, ban me!
rulezero is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSD and Cache SSD? I_Am_Skip System Upgrades 9 01-08-2012 09:19 PM
ocz ssd vs kingston ssd? gordonie Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 11-11-2011 07:28 PM
Can you have a SSD 60GB as a boot drive and a 500GB HDD for storage but have smart response enabled on the SSD? matteuk New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-27-2011 01:12 PM
mSATA SSD vs SATA SSD Jayce Laptops and Notebooks 1 06-29-2011 10:11 AM
SSD TRIM Function Intel X25 SSD thesilversavers Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 19 05-22-2011 10:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.