upgrading to a bigger case - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-04-2007, 11:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1
Default upgrading to a bigger case

Right now i have the asus Pundit-AE3 desktop with some upgrades in it. the case is a slime case withn an agp motherboard so i need to get a full size case to hold a better card.(eyein up a 7600 to hold me off till i get a new motherboard, better than my 6200 in now). I want to get this case Product Details. will my Asus K8S-MV-P motherboard fit? also will ddr2 work on ddr or do they have to be the same.

yellowmustard is offline  
Old 04-05-2007, 12:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,955
Default Re: upgrading to a bigger case

Unless your mobo is proprietary, it will fit.

DDR and DDR2 are not the same, and will not mix.


Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-05-2007, 10:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8
Default Re: upgrading to a bigger case

thanks anyone have anything else to add.
federaldb59 is offline  
Old 04-05-2007, 10:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: upgrading to a bigger case

That case is very nice for the price. I recommend it but I ENCOURAGE to to consider a PSU upgrade eventually...like a few months from now maybe as the stock ones always suck. It will work but it may die and possibly fry something if trusted too much.
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Case mod project: Wc pump/rad housing case schulz269 Overclocking and Modding 18 04-15-2007 01:00 PM
Do I want pos / neg case pressure? Ring0 Overclocking and Modding 10 04-01-2007 07:12 AM
Quick question, currently building computer..(Mobo into case) Alexinator New Systems | Building and Buying 0 03-31-2007 12:48 AM
Coolermaster Mystique question on this case. ingeborgdot New Systems | Building and Buying 2 03-27-2007 04:10 PM
Reccomend a case mozinga New Systems | Building and Buying 1 03-27-2007 02:26 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.