Upgraded a bunch of stuff, no display now, please help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-10-2006, 09:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to Mike431635
Default Upgraded a bunch of stuff, no display now, please help!

Alright guys, I upgraded my primary computer with a socket 754 mobo & sempron 3400+, 6600GT, 2GB PC2700, and 500W PSU. So, logically, I took my old Socket A mobo and put it in my OTHER computer (still running a Duron 750). I'm having problems with it now.

The old setup:
PCChips M810 motherboard (SiS chipset) - onboard LAN
AMD Duron 750 (not overclocked)
Stock heatsink & fan, no case fans (wth?)
nVidia GeForce 440MX
256MB (2x128MB) old crappy RAM
250W PSU

The new setup:
FIC 1st Mainboard AN11 motherboard
AMD Duron 750 (unlocked it with the pencil trick, still stock clock)
Thermaltake Chrome Orb CPU heatsink/fan
2x 80mm case fans (one in, one out)
nVidia GeForce FX5500
1GB PC2100 RAM
NIC expansion card
450W PSU

Now, I had some issues with hooking up the "light show" in the front of the case (the power switch, HDD LED, speaker, etc). Currently I have it all figured out except the power reset switch, which has been left disconnected until I can find my motherboard manual or get an answer from someone at FIC.

It starts up fine, all the fans work, and I can hear it booting up and going through the startup process (including the floppy beeping), then it idles (I'm assuming at the Windows XP login screen). However, I don't get a display on my monitor at all. I tried the old PSU for the heck of it and it didn't solve my problem. I'm 100% positive there is plenty of air circulation and that the orb is properly seated on the CPU with enough thermal grease to conduct the heat. All the jumpers on the HDD, floppy, and CD-ROM drives were left as they already were and just plugged into the PSU and the motherboard. IDE cables are firmly plugged in, as well as the graphics card.

What could possibly be causing me to get no display? My guess is that I need to go back to the MX440 but then again, I stayed in the nVidia family and they all use the same ForceWare driver. I'm stumped.

Someone, anyone, please help

Mike431635 is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 10:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

if there is no display before windows then it is a hardware, not a software issue. try the other card.

Visit my website - nitestick.net
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 10:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748

Have you tried pressing f8 upon boot to see if you can go to the safe menu. Try to start in safe mode if you get a screen. If not try your old vid card just to see if the vid is the problem.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:53 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.