Updating Bios - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-17-2008, 10:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Updating Bios

My friend bought a second stick of 512mb ddr ram and when installed it won't register as dual channel, and the post screen shows only 512 ram (while my computer and cpu-z show 1 gig single channel)

I know it is a bios issue and was wondering how i go about updating bios using either a CD rom or a usb drive.
__________________

__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 01-17-2008, 11:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: Updating Bios

You'll have to go onto yourmotherboard manufacturer's website and look up the EXACT model that you have, and see if your motherboard can in fact boot off of USB devices. Most newer ones can, but I'd check to make sure (plug a usb drive in an dthen reboot, and check to see if you're able to boot off of it.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 01-18-2008, 12:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Updating Bios

Hello,

Is he absolutely certain that the new memory module is compatible with his motherboard?

Has he tried resetting the BIOS, and/or checking the BIOS settings?
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 01-18-2008, 10:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Updating Bios

Quote:
new memory module
DDR ?

Yes he has reset bios and checked settings, it is a bios update problem and i have been unable to update it.
__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 01-18-2008, 10:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Updating Bios

How are you certain that it's a BIOS issue?

As always, flashing the BIOS is risky. I've flashed many motherboards on desktop computers and laptops, and I've had to send two computers back to the manufacturer to be serviced because of failed updates corrupting the BIOS.

As carnageX said, if a BIOS update is available, it is likely to be available to download on the manufacturer's website - the laptop manufacturer or motherboard manufacturer. It's common manufacturers provide users with BIOS updates which can be performed when booted into Windows.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 01-19-2008, 03:08 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Updating Bios

Quote:
How are you certain that it's a BIOS issue?
Could a faulty psu be causing it not to pickup as dual?

otherwise it is 99% a bios issue. His motherboard is a Gigabyte GA-VM800PMC

I downloaded the bios update which came with 3 files

-VM800PMC.F4

-autoexec

-FLASH895



I tried to run the autoexec but when it loaded it would get an error when i told it to load the VM800PMC.F4 file.

Then i tried putting the files on my usb and then running the flash tool that his motherboard has (Pressing F8 in bios) and i selected the file but when it was "checking" it had an error.

I have tried 3 different version of the bios (including the most current) and can't get them to work. I am doing something wrong more than likely so can someone tell me what?
__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 01-19-2008, 06:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: Updating Bios

Is he sure the two ram chips are identical? Same model numbers?
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 01-20-2008, 01:56 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Updating Bios

It's to do with bios!

I gave him my old 2 sticks of ram (DDR2 2x512) so he can return his and buy me a cpu cooler (for giving him ram )

They are also not showing as dual channel and the sticks are perfectly fine since my system shows them as dual channel.

Someone please help!
__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 01-20-2008, 11:42 AM   #9 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Updating Bios

they usually dont have to be identical, i've run several types of ram in my system at the same time no problem.
are you sure you have them in the right slots?
ie they may not go into the same color slot or right next to each other, or they may. try it both ways. although, on that mobo i would assume they were the same color as it supports 2 different kinds of ram.
GIGABYTE - Product - Motherboard - Specification - GA-VM800PMC
*from specs*
4 DIMM memory slots (supports up to 2GB memory by DDR/DDR2)
Supports 1.8V/1.5V DDR DIMM
2 DIMM supports DDR2 533/400 DIMM
2 DIMM supports DDR400/333/266

how about the voltage of the ram you are giving him? is it within the range? if it is not showing up in the post, that could certainly be the problem.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 01-20-2008, 01:02 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Updating Bios

Neither the 1 gig (2x512 ddr2) or the 1 gig (2x512 ddr) where showing as 1 gig in post.

Cpuz and my computer, even bios show as 1 gig, but not dual channel

I just really need to know how to update his bios either with a cd or usb since he doesn't have a floppy drive and i am to lazy to take mine out and lend to him :P

I can't remember what ram it was, has an orange and white tag on it but its some named brand like hynix.

DDR2 533 512MB x 2 both in correct slots (showing as 1 gig in everything but post which shows 512 for some stupid reason)
__________________

__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New eVGA 8800GT BIOS update maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 01-16-2008 12:51 PM
Updating BIOS, resets everything? pinoy3000 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 08-28-2007 08:22 AM
Updating Bios of a P5B Sydzy Microsoft Windows and Software 6 08-15-2007 01:15 PM
Updating BIOS sammytheman Microsoft Windows and Software 2 05-12-2007 12:06 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.