Updated computer won't boot - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-03-2006, 08:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 40
Default Updated computer won't boot

Hi all, here's my first post and I'll try to give as much info as possible to save unnecessary posts.

A friend of a friend had an oldish computer that he thought was for the bin. I heard about it and asked if I could have a look to see what's what.
The only problem it had was a broken 15-pin VGA graphics connector housing leaving the 15 pins exposed and very vulnerable. The pins were alright as when I put my monitor cable to them, it worked, albeit dodgy to say the least.
Fixing the housing wasn't possible that I could see. The posts where the housing was fixed to the mobo (onboard graphics) were snapped off.
I decided rather than just adding a graphics card and figuring out how to disable the onboard graphics, I would simply update the mobo.

Here lies the problem, nothing happens when I attempt to power up. Dead, totally dead. I have dismantled it all a couple of times and made sure all cables and what-not are secure but still nothing. Power looks to be getting to the PSU as a little green light flashes constantly on it's back panel, but other than that little evidence of life, it's quite dead.

The original spec was:
MSI MS-6577 v3.1 socket 478 motherboard with a Processor front side bus frequency of 400/533 MHz.
1 x 256MB 333 DDR-DIMM memory card.
2.60 GHz Celeron processor.

New spec is:
As above but using an ASRock P4i65G socket 478 motherboard with a Processor front side bus frequency of 800/533 MHz.


Any help much appreciated
__________________

Richard Laymon is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 08:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

allow me to be the first to say welcome to TF then stick around and have some fun........

i blame this for oh so many issues but i'm going to guess that it has a P4 (4 pin) power connector on the motherboard that you haven't attached?
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 08:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 40
Default

If your talking about the little white square connector with two yellow and two black wires then sorry it is attached

P.S.
Thanks for the welcome
Richard Laymon is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 09:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

whoops didn't realise you said the light was on the psu......thought you said motherboard.

could be a faulty switch but i think i may be reaching. do you know how to short the pins of the power switch to turn a pc on?
Nitestick is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 09:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 40
Default

No I don't and I really don't want to do anything that would cause the thing to die a hideous death.
Richard Laymon is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 07:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 40
Default

Is it possible that the processor is the wrong type (different cores) or simply not fast enough, the FSB of the mobo is double that of the chip ?
Richard Laymon is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 07:09 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 40
Default

Well I set it up outside the tower and nothing, so I took it back to the shop and they tested the mobo and told me it posted several times. They advised me to re-check all my connections and make sure everything else is working.

I tried placing all connections very securely to the mobo but nothing worked. I then replaced the old mobo into the tower and tried that one. A blue flashing light is visable on the front panel but nothing else. The old system doesn't do jack same as the new one, no fans spinning, no hard drive spinning up, no beeps, nothing

What has gone wrong ?
Richard Laymon is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 08:33 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Default

When you replaced the mobo did you use the "risers" to keep the board away from the PC case? It's POSSIBLE that the board is shorting out when the power in turned on. Maybe the mounting screws are too tight. Try loosening the screws a quarter turn.

PS...."Resurrection Dreams" was my favorite!
Itnewjersey is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 09:07 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Try a different powersupply.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 05:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 40
Default

I have tried to boot it up outside the tower so it can't be the risers. I shall attempt to connect my PSU tomorrow and see what happens.

"Flesh"
__________________

Richard Laymon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.