Update on my computer - Power Supply Info needed... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-26-2009, 08:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 95
Default Update on my computer - Power Supply Info needed...

Ok, so my computer is still not up and running (I took the weekend off from troubleshooting). I just tested my case's PW_Switch cable on my current computer and got LEDs and fans spinning. Case cables ruled out.

I still have the mobo as a possible offender, but I just noticed something else...

My power supply's main mobo connector (the 24 pin molex guy) has a single pin missing...would this account for my computer not getting any power at all? I can't recall whether or not the PSU's been like that from the start, so I still have no way of knowing if the computer's not booting because of a DOA mobo or the PSU.

Any ideas?
__________________

kershner is offline  
Old 01-26-2009, 09:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: Update on my computer - Power Supply Info needed...

The -5 volt on most newer PSU have been removed since it's not really used anymore...that's probably the missing pin that your referring too. Shouldn't be anything to worry about.

I still think it's more of a mobo issue, anyway for you to get your hands on a known working psu just to test on your machine?
__________________

brinks is offline  
Old 01-26-2009, 10:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 95
Default Re: Update on my computer - Power Supply Info needed...

I have the PSU from my Dell Dimension desktop that I'm typing on now...but it's like 7 years old and the PSU connectors don't fit. If the missing pin is normal, then it's gotta be a mobo issue, since I'm sure the PSU works via the paperclip test.

Here's a question for you: a heatsink on my Gigabyte mobo has a few minor scratches on it from installing the Sunbeam Core Contact, and also my firewire cap (the small gray 1394 cap that goes on the mobo connector) is missing...do you think I should anticipate problems RMAing it?
kershner is offline  
Old 01-27-2009, 12:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 95
Default Re: Update on my computer - Power Supply Info needed...

Anyone have any extensive experience with RMAs that might have any insight?
kershner is offline  
Old 01-27-2009, 12:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Stevo808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 381
Send a message via AIM to Stevo808
Default Re: Update on my computer - Power Supply Info needed...

RMA's are always different with company's, you must either search the company about there RMA procedure or talk to a representative. Your part must be under warranty and has to be within a certain time frame as well.
__________________
<---- Please REP if i was helpful! Thanks! :thumbsup:

Stevo808 is offline  
Old 01-27-2009, 12:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Update on my computer - Power Supply Info needed...

Quote:
Originally Posted by kershner View Post
Anyone have any extensive experience with RMAs that might have any insight?
What brand mobo is it? I've never had any issues with RMA's before using Asus, EVGA, Newegg, and Super Talent.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 01-27-2009, 12:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 95
Default Re: Update on my computer - Power Supply Info needed...

It's a Gigabyte mobo.
kershner is offline  
Old 01-27-2009, 12:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Update on my computer - Power Supply Info needed...

I would just call them up, speak to a rep and tell him/her how you tried troubleshooting everything else and it still would not work. They should then send you a prepaid box or a printable pre-paid shipping label to put on your motherboard retail box. You then just put everything that came with the mobo back in the box and ship it in.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 01-27-2009, 01:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 95
Default Re: Update on my computer - Power Supply Info needed...

I'm hearing they're a little bit lenient on normal installation wear and tear, also, which is a good thing.

Man, the heatsinks on this thing are a PITA for the Sunbeam Core Contact!
__________________

kershner is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer auto power up upon usb device in window(TM) vista(TM) KiLiCatLet Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 09-15-2008 11:21 AM
Built a new computer...NO POWER!!! HELP!!! imconfused System Upgrades 33 11-26-2007 08:32 PM
Power Supply and Gaming Twinfun2 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 11-23-2007 03:09 AM
Power Supply Brinson Overclocking and Modding 4 06-13-2007 09:12 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.