unstable machine - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-17-2009, 07:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default unstable machine

Problem:
computer would just randomly freeze, sometimes right when i get onto the desktop

sometimes it'd run hours no problem (i've ran folding@home (GPU and single core)for 2 days straight no freeze)

no BSOD either, just freezes

if I try to run uTorrent, it's almost guarnteed instant freeze

Spec:
Q6600@2.4ghz 1.325v (1.3v with vdroop)
asus p5q pro nb 1.3v sb 1.2v
4 sticks of ddr2 2gb @ 800 5-5-5-15 2.0v
video card stock
2 HDDs 1 optical

Tests done:
I tested with prime95(2 hr), OCCT bench (1 hr) and furmark (15min) all pass
temps all seem fine
and I ran memtest86 back when I got these rams, passed

HD tune 2.55 error scan fine
health status -ok on both drives


Theory:
either I need to format and reinstall windows or maybe one of my hard drive is failing?
I think Chris (Baez) had his hard drive failing and causing problems too?
or maybe mother board is a goner?


any thoughts, comments, inputs or insults?
__________________

Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 05-17-2009, 08:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: unstable machine

You smell funny.

Uhm, have you tried intel burn in test? That's a pretty good stress tester program. Give that guy a shot.
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 05-17-2009, 08:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: unstable machine

haha, I'll take a shower soon. I promise

I am not sure if I can take IBT :\
temps already hits 70C in the winter with IBT, now that it's warmer...
plus I know that my AS5 need to be replaced

but temp still manageble with prime95
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 05-17-2009, 08:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: unstable machine

Try the non destructive read / write test with PC check 6 on Heirens boot disk followed by the mechanical test.
__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 05-20-2009, 01:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: unstable machine

Um, I found i could go 5 or 6hrs prime, but ater 15+ i'd lock up.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 05-20-2009, 04:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default Re: unstable machine

Perhaps I'm blind, but what OS are you running?

Intermittent system freezing is usually some issue with-in the operating system.
1.) Back-up all important data.
2.) Format & Reinstall.
3.) See if Freezing is still an issue.

If you still have intermittent freezing on a fresh install of your OS, then it's most likely a memory issue or a hard drive issue.

You also can consider the power supply. Additionally, how is your power supply getting power? Direct to wall outlet, UPS or Power Strip.
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Change drive on remote machine after FTPing to it Hviezdoslav Programming 2 04-27-2009 11:31 AM
XP Network problem on one machine GAH2402 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 14 01-19-2009 04:59 PM
Vista machine is SLOW, need help shortstop20 Microsoft Windows and Software 5 09-11-2008 09:06 PM
Review Gaming Machine Purchase shan1784 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 06-22-2008 10:48 AM
My Machine Got Crazy.... rockaway Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 04-18-2008 01:16 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.