unrecognized processor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-10-2005, 11:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default unrecognized processor

My socket 754 mobo doesn't recognize my amd64 2500, it calls it unknown processor amd hammer family.Does it matter?
__________________

Bruce is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 11:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Well, it doesn't matter if it boots and runs correctly.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 11:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

yea it runs fine, just strange it don't recognize it.specially when the sticker on the box says its made for it.lol

I first thought Bios flash, but I have the newest.Plus I hate to flash a new board thats working.
__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 07:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

Could be from HT. Guess you could update the bios, if it bothers you and its not from HT but if it runs fine, I wouldn't take the time or risk to do it.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 10:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

not a problem unless it doesn't recognise and set the cpu settings appropriately.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 08:32 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

what? there's an Athlon 64 2500?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 08:56 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
what? there's an Athlon 64 2500?
I don't think so, maybe an athlon 2500+ but not a athlon 64
Ste is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 09:57 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

yeah that would be an athlon xp
Nitestick is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 11:01 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

but he says it's socket 754
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 06:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

lol

sorry i think i added the 64 inadvertently thinkin bout my other box, its a sempron lol
__________________

__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.