Unmountable boot volume. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-28-2008, 07:41 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 12
Default Re: Unmountable boot volume.

Come to think of it, actually yes, something happened.

I remembered that my computer was in standby, and a message said something happened to the registry, and it was be fixed or something of that nature. It just stayed like that for around 10 minutes, so I thought it just froze and restarted the computer. Than the message appeared.

Ad yes, I believe it is a IDE drive, how would I make sure? Sorry with all these questions.. I just want to make sure I get this right.
__________________

Chris_Luu is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 07:44 PM   #12 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Unmountable boot volume.

If it's an IDE drive it will be a thick ribbon with many little wires. If it's SATA it will be pretty small and only one wire.
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 07:50 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 12
Default Re: Unmountable boot volume.

Than I believe it is a SATA drive. It has one ribbon like wire, and only one more wire with yellow,black, and red smaller wires.
Chris_Luu is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 07:52 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Unmountable boot volume.

ribbon and flat like is IDE and the colored ones are power. try replacing the ide cable
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 08:05 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 12
Default Re: Unmountable boot volume.

Still did not work.
Chris_Luu is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 08:07 PM   #16 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Unmountable boot volume.

Alright this may sound pointless but it isn't.

Count how many little wires are in the ribbon. You should either get 40 or 80.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 08:09 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 12
Default Re: Unmountable boot volume.

I got 80.
Chris_Luu is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 08:15 PM   #18 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Unmountable boot volume.

Alright your good. Next is to check in your BIOS what Ultra-DMA mode your drive is running in. If you don't know how to find that out then post your motherboard model and I'll try help you.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 08:21 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 12
Default Re: Unmountable boot volume.

It is running in Mode 2. And while looking at my drive info, it said ( cable detected : 40 conductor. )
Chris_Luu is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 08:42 PM   #20 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Unmountable boot volume.

Alright so that's the final test. The only thing you can do to solve your problem now is reformat and install a fresh copy of Windows.
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A sneaky, and annoying virus donaldj HijackThis Logs (finished) 25 06-16-2008 08:58 PM
unable to load win xp on sata hard drive. unmountable boot volume error screen! busa4 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 04-14-2008 09:09 PM
Possible Corrupted/Infected Files. xXxexpertxXx Viruses, Spyware and Malware 11 03-12-2008 01:18 AM
Unmountable boot volume davyo Microsoft Windows and Software 2 06-18-2007 05:03 PM
Unmountable Boot Volume - BSoD Raj1991 Microsoft Windows and Software 6 04-03-2007 11:59 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.