Unmountable boot volume. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-28-2008, 06:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 12
Default Unmountable boot volume.

Hello everyone. I have had this BSOD message for awhile, and have taken many steps to overcome it.

I just used a Windows XP PRO ( my OS ) to repair it using recovery console ( small note : when it asks which windows installation to use, it says my S: drive, not my C: drive. )

I used chkdsk, which I think everything turned out well, and fixboot, which found a error, and supposedly corrected it. I restarted my computer, and it's still there.

I decided to post on the forums, because you guys should be more knowledgeable than I I know I might have to format, but if I have to, I want to back up my data also, which I do not know how to do.

Any help, would be greatly appreciated.
__________________

Chris_Luu is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 06:09 PM   #2 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Unmountable boot volume.

What does the blue screen message say?
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 06:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 12
Default Re: Unmountable boot volume.

Unmountable boot volume. Do you also need the stop code? I will post it if needed.
Chris_Luu is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 06:41 PM   #4 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Unmountable boot volume.

Ouch that's the blue screen message? Sometimes these are hard to get rid of.

Many times the cause of this is a bad cable. Have you tried changing your SATA/IDE cables?

Also does this come up before Windows has even loaded?
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 06:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 12
Default Re: Unmountable boot volume.

I have not tried changing the cables, but I don't think that is the problem because during FIXBOOT, it states that there was a bad boot sector.

Also, the blue screen appears when the Windows screen is loading. I am guessing I have little options left, so I was thinking if I could install windows on to my other hard drive ( I have two, C: and S: drive ), and boot from S: instead.
Ugh, I hate these kinds of problems.
Chris_Luu is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 06:55 PM   #6 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Unmountable boot volume.

What brand of hard drive is the one that had bad sectors on it? There's still one more thing to try.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 06:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 12
Default Re: Unmountable boot volume.

Both drives are Maxtors. C:/ is around 20 gigs, while S:/ is 180 gigs. The C:/ drive has the bad sectors, and is the one I boot from btw.
Chris_Luu is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 07:03 PM   #8 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Unmountable boot volume.

Download PowerMax and burn the ISO to a CD. Boot from the CD and run the test on the hard drive.

PowerMax is Maxtor's own utility and doesn't only check for bad sectors but checks for a bad drive as well (eg. the chip on the bottom of the drive becomes corrupt).

If they are newer drives, 1 year or less, you can use SeaTools instead and it should work. If you do use SeaTools make sure you run the long test.

Once the tests are finished if the utilities say the drives are fine, you have a corrupt installation of Windows beyond repair.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 07:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 12
Default Re: Unmountable boot volume.

Thank you a lot, I really appreciate your help. Sadly, I have no access to a cd burner until later this week, so hypothetically this does not work, what are other options?
Chris_Luu is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 07:31 PM   #10 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Unmountable boot volume.

Have you made any changes to anything before your computer didn't boot anymore? And is your drive and IDE drive?
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A sneaky, and annoying virus donaldj HijackThis Logs (finished) 25 06-16-2008 08:58 PM
unable to load win xp on sata hard drive. unmountable boot volume error screen! busa4 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 04-14-2008 09:09 PM
Possible Corrupted/Infected Files. xXxexpertxXx Viruses, Spyware and Malware 11 03-12-2008 01:18 AM
Unmountable boot volume davyo Microsoft Windows and Software 2 06-18-2007 05:03 PM
Unmountable Boot Volume - BSoD Raj1991 Microsoft Windows and Software 6 04-03-2007 11:59 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.