Unknown hardware errors - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-04-2008, 04:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4
Default Unknown hardware errors

I have a barebone from a friend here that I am finishing up for him. All parts were assembled and when I turn on power everything seems fine, but then nothing appears on the screen except for blackness. I thought maybe it was the RAM so I took it out and put in my computer I am on now, and it booted. So next I took his HDD and put into this computer and it booted as well. RAM and HDD work then according to those tests. Asus M2A-VM mobo has onboard video so no video card to trouble shoot. The psu fan is running and the mobo lights up when power is given so I concluded that the psu and mobo are working as well. Can anybody offer any solutions to this? Thank you very much.

zm307 is offline  
Old 08-04-2008, 08:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
KSoD's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Unknown hardware errors


Just because the mobo powers on and you see lights does not make them operational.

What is the PSU power? Is it sufficent to run everything?


I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-04-2008, 10:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: Unknown hardware errors

Thanks for the reply...Honestly I am not aware of the wattage.. I know it isnt very high.. somewhere in the 400 range at the most. I did though see the amerage which was 19 amps on 12v rail one and 20 amps on 12v rail two. Its onboard graphics..so it is hard for me to see how the video is effected. How do I test to see if the mobo is working?
zm307 is offline  
Old 08-05-2008, 12:39 AM   #4 (permalink)

Baez's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,985
Default Re: Unknown hardware errors

Just check the sticker on the side of the PSU for wattage info.

Baez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HiJackThis Log Akubane HijackThis Logs (finished) 1 01-28-2008 12:07 PM
My log Max Power HijackThis Logs (finished) 4 08-23-2007 07:55 AM
my log Max Power HijackThis Logs (finished) 10 06-07-2007 10:56 PM
Half of my Hardware is unknown? Sunyboy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-09-2007 08:58 PM
Program to scan for hardware errors? mobkon Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-20-2007 03:23 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:20 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.