unable to install windows... and windows only? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-19-2005, 01:02 AM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Its going to read the other driver.


I cant edit so I have to repost...and I dont know why
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 04:11 AM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7
Default

no, no, no, i mean i installed it as a slave, and formated it over and over and over. then took it out, changed the jumper to put it as master then tried to boot from cd.

for some reason i always get that response when i explain what i did.. maybe i should choose different words.

i can only asume its compatible. it originally came with windows 2k, then i installed xp, then i formated and installed xp again but got some "infection" and ever since then all i can install is linux and free bsd.

as i said before, "checking hardware config.." then black-- and stays black... the cd continues to spin for a little longer then stops, but the light on the computer, the one that lights up when it is processing, not the power light the other one, stays on. Dont know if thats relevant or not.

thanks for the replies!
__________________

ldealba is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 04:22 AM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mike4realz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 404
Default

you mentioned "infected"...i'm assuming u got a virus, if that's the case, you should scan it wid anti-virus with latest updates cuz reformatting an infected hard drive doesn't necessarily remove the virus.
__________________

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83Ghz || 4GB OCZ 1066 DDR2 RAM || GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P Motherboard ||
PNY XLR8 GTX 470 || Raptor 300GB 10,000 RPM HDD RAID0 || Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
mike4realz is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 04:28 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7
Default

i did, but it found no viruses
ldealba is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 04:30 AM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mike4realz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 404
Default

and since u said that u can only install linux based os and not xp, then there must be something in that hard drive that is preventing u to install microsoft's os. have u tried installing win2k or other windows os?
__________________

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83Ghz || 4GB OCZ 1066 DDR2 RAM || GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P Motherboard ||
PNY XLR8 GTX 470 || Raptor 300GB 10,000 RPM HDD RAID0 || Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
mike4realz is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 04:33 AM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

go to diskmgmt.msc and delete the partition entirely. then put it back as master (being the only drive in) and format with the XP disk
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 04:38 AM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7
Default

you kno i havnt tried that... hmph. ,, so you think its xp related, not necesarily windows?

what is diskmgmt.msc? sorry not on a windows box right now.
ldealba is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 04:56 AM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mike4realz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 404
Default

diskmgmt.msc is a disk utility for managing hard drives on 2000/XP. u can delete, create partitions and format them as well
__________________

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83Ghz || 4GB OCZ 1066 DDR2 RAM || GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P Motherboard ||
PNY XLR8 GTX 470 || Raptor 300GB 10,000 RPM HDD RAID0 || Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
mike4realz is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 05:02 AM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mike4realz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 404
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ldealba
you kno i havnt tried that... hmph. ,, so you think its xp related, not necesarily windows?
what? xp is windows. that's why they're called "WINDOWS XP" home or professional

i just think ur problem is virus or something related. i see no reason why u cannot install xp but install a linux operating system.
__________________

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83Ghz || 4GB OCZ 1066 DDR2 RAM || GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P Motherboard ||
PNY XLR8 GTX 470 || Raptor 300GB 10,000 RPM HDD RAID0 || Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
mike4realz is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 02:35 AM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7
Default

sorry about the delay. i finally got time to kill disk the HDD.. which on a side note took over four hours!(is that normal?)

but at any rate, it then allowed windows to install. everything seems good. the only thing ive been told is that while listening to mp3's, they freeze/skip. ive installed the audio drivers from giga-byte.com, but it still does it.. ive never seen this before. atleast not with mp3's. anyone come across this?

thanks.
__________________

ldealba is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.