Unable to Format Hard Disk Drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-02-2006, 08:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1
Question Unable to Format Hard Disk Drive

I have WinXP SP2, my primary slave drive (Seagates' ST3160023A) suddenly became corrupted and unreadable (not accessible), i gave up on recovering the data on the drive and formatted the drive. The disk became corruped when i browsed to 'Device Manager' and clicked on 'scan for hardware changes.' This has happened several times before, but after formatting it again it becomes normal. This time is different.

The problem is that, after I formatted it (right-clicking D-drive, full format and rebooted comp) it gets corrupted again and unreadable. Afterwards, a windows msg prompts 'D drive is not formatted. Do you want to format?' But i already formatted it.

Also, the chdsk tool does not work - freezes it and have to reboot comp. I've tried everyting i could but nothing seems to help. Also, i do not have spyware or virus, i have nod32/adaware/spybotSND so my computer is clean.

Sometimes when i go in D drive it shows up weird files like this : http://img147.imageshack.us/img147/9220/help5dd.png

Also, in Computer Management -> Disk Management
( http://img55.imageshack.us/img55/9131/help23zv.jpg ) It shows my disk has 0mbs??? I'm confused

Also, after formatting the drive this pops up: http://img471.imageshack.us/img471/5529/untitled2il.jpg -a full format (quick format did not work).

Is my hard disk faulty? Or some other problems, like bad ram (don't really think so)?
Everything i tried seems to make it become worse.

Much help is appreciated


sukiz is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 07:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
FlashDude's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude

Do you have the jumpers set to master and slave and not cable select? The hdd is NFG, buy another one.

FlashDude is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 07:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
bigbaddog's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 156
Send a message via Yahoo to bigbaddog

Go to this link and download Seatools...Seagate's diagnostic program and do what it says....make a boot disc, boot from it and it will reconize the Seagate drive, run test to see if the drive is at fault. If it's okay you can reformat and repartition with this program as well...much better than windows.

bigbaddog is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.