Unable to format - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-19-2006, 04:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1
Default Unable to format

I just bought Maxtor 320G 16M 7200RPM SATA2 Hard Drive and put it in external enclosure. I tried to format it but it always failed at about 97%. I need some suggestions on how to make it work.
Any help would be really appreciated...
__________________

dnjoto is offline  
Old 09-19-2006, 06:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

try formatting then placing it in the enclosure. you could also try third party partitioning/formatting software.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 09-19-2006, 03:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to dipique
Default

Ditto on that. External exclosures can be funky sometimes. If you do a lot of tech work, buy a SATA->USB adapter. They're great for situations like this.

Dan
dipique is offline  
Old 09-19-2006, 05:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 351
Default

well if its failling and its brand new you should send it back for a replacement
__________________
E6300 Core 2 Duo
GA-965P-DS3
2 Gbs OCZ PLatinum 800Mhz
250 Gb Western Digital
OCZ Modsteam 450W
7900GT Gainward
Flux Capacitor....SWEEEET
OatesyX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.