Unable to burn CDs. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-12-2005, 02:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 9
Default Unable to burn CDs.

It started about 2 weeks ago.

Everytime I try to burn music files (mp3, wav etc) to an audio cd I keep getting a "power calibration" error in Nero and other burning programs will give me an error message.

However, I am still able to rip and burn DVDs with no problems what so ever.

I remember putting a check mark by an option called "Use less CPU power when possible" but I do not remember where to find it. I'm not sure if that has anything to do with this though.

When I insert a blank CD-R into the drive it makes a weird sound and most of the time it tells me my CD-R is full or it's not in the drive.

I'm using a Nec DVD burner 2500A. My OS is Microsoft Windows XP.

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Also, where might I find this option "Use less CPU power when possible"? I want to disable it.
__________________

BloodRevolver is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 02:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

what burning program are you useing...?

nero, roxio...
__________________

Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 02:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 9
Default

Both as well as Express Burn v1.09.
BloodRevolver is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 04:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 9
Default

Help.. ; ;
BloodRevolver is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 10:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 72
Default

My dad gets the same problem using Nero. I don't have a solution though . I finally stopped using nero cause it would ruin so many cds in the burning process.
xr280xr is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 11:51 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 9
Default

It's not just Nero. Any CD burning software I use fails to burn to audio CDs.

I think that option I checked a while ago may have something to do with it: "Use less CPU power when possible".

Or something very similar to that. I cannot find it.
BloodRevolver is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 11:58 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Consider updating the programs and updating the firmware of the CD/DVD ROM.

If that doesn't fix it, then the burner, At least the CD part is going bad. Try another drive and if it works in a different drive.

Then you gotta buy a new Burner.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 12:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Get better Media.

You may also want to update your firmware.

But first things first... Don't buy cheap blanks
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 09:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6
Default

reboot your os and get a new copy of nero also get new drivers that fixed my problem.
aleyva is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 09:17 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6
Default

also try testing a different burner for that computer and see if its tha hardware
__________________

aleyva is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.