unable to boot past floppy - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-16-2008, 09:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 5
Default unable to boot past floppy

removed and reformatted HD and upon reinstall,computer won't boot past "strike F1" message....light on floppy stays on ...both computer action lights stay on....after unplugging floppy,I only get blinking cursor in upper left corner,where the Ram was counted before and left computer action light remains on...now it seems the cdrom drive is not reading my restore disk.....could really use some help,here!....connections are good...Ram sticks removed and reseated....I clueless at this point.
__________________

seawitch999 is offline  
Old 10-17-2008, 06:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: unable to boot past floppy

is it essential that you load off the floppy? or can you get an install disk and boot it from the CD? have you got the BIOS set to use the floppy drive as the primary boot device? or even recognise the drive at all?
__________________

BongWizard is offline  
Old 10-17-2008, 10:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: unable to boot past floppy

You may have killed the partition on the drive that the restore disk needs to install the OS when you formatted. Did the install complete? What shows up in your boot order in the BIOS?
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 10-17-2008, 02:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks for the quick reply!....apparently I wasn't clear enough.
the drive is empty,and the cpu will not go past the CDrom player to load my disk.
It does NOT appear to be reading the disk at all,partition or no partion...It only blinks once and screen says "press F1 for recovery",but nothing happens.
A cursor is blinking in the upper left hand of screen as if counting my memory,but no numbers are there counting up.This unit counts the memory and then loads Windows.
I'm stuck,here....heh,heh.

ps....there is no Bios at this time!
seawitch999 is offline  
Old 10-17-2008, 11:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: unable to boot past floppy

What do you mean there is no BIOS? There has to be a BIOS to even start the boot process.

Windows XP or Vista? You have to fix the Windows boot.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-18-2008, 12:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: unable to boot past floppy

try leaving the floppy unplugged from the beginning.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 10-18-2008, 01:34 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 5
Default Re: unable to boot past floppy

the floppy IS unplugged and it won't even read the restore disk in my CDROM.....so I have nothing in the HDrive... I can't access setup at all ....no F8,2,10,or 12....get me????
my CDROM drive blinks once......end of story...I just don't get it at all!
seawitch999 is offline  
Old 10-18-2008, 07:50 AM   #8 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: unable to boot past floppy

ok just as a test, ditch the CDROM, ditch the HDD, ditch the floppy, just for a second... just have one DIMM, your CPU, PSU and GPU connected... boot up the computer and see if you can get to the BIOS, if not you know one of these components is dead... most likely is your PSU or your RAM... if you can get to the BIOS, make sure you have floppy as first boot drive, HDD as second and something else as third... if you need to boot off a CD, you can hit F12 right after the POST screen
BongWizard is offline  
Old 10-18-2008, 12:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: unable to boot past floppy

If you have nothing on the hard drive how do you expect the system to boot? There is no boot record or boot files then!!!!

So yeah the system wont boot cause there is nothing on your hard drive. I dont know why you would expect a system to boot when there is nothing on the drive. You have to install Windows first in order for it to be able to boot from the hard drive.

So hitting F8, or any other function key wont work cause there is nothing to BOOT TO. At all. But you still dont answer any questions. What do you mean by no BIOS??????

Also please cut the attitude. We are trying to HELP you. With responses like that your answers will have as much respect to them as you give.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-18-2008, 08:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: unable to boot past floppy

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213 View Post
If you have nothing on the hard drive how do you expect the system to boot? There is no boot record or boot files then!!!!
another question...(mak can answer he is the neighborhood windows man)...
will a restore disc even work on a formatted hard drive? dont you actually have to have a copy of windows installed for it to work?
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
strange power problem: no boot, LED flicker, angry floppy drive AskMeAboutRNA Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 09-04-2008 08:36 PM
10 Ways To Make Linux Boot Faster Osiris Linux Tips and Tricks 0 08-04-2008 09:36 AM
unable to load win xp on sata hard drive. unmountable boot volume error screen! busa4 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 04-14-2008 09:09 PM
Unable to Boot from Disk artyziff Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 19 03-15-2008 08:14 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.