Unable to boot from optical drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-20-2009, 12:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Unable to boot from optical drive

I have discovered that it is hard to install a new OS when your optical drive doesn't show up in BIOS. Both hard drives are there, and it is listed in Windows, but it does not show up in BIOS.

LG GH22LS30 SATA DVD burner
DFI LanParty-UT SLI-D
Vista Ultimate 64-bit for my OS
See my sig for anything else

Not sure which version of BIOS I am on, but I know I updated it when I went to my dual core. Since it is an old board I doubt if there are any newer versions.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-20-2009, 01:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Unable to boot from optical drive

1) As you said reset cmos.

2) Could not find a manual dl for your board but take a peek in bios if a reset does not work some of the boards of that age had a sata ide emulation mode. play with that.

3) Try a different sata port on the motherboard. Try a different sata cable if you have one. Although I believe it is working in windows so cabling probably not an issue.

4) get a large hammer and hit it really hard. call you insurance company and file a claim. Use that money for a Phenom II. I know you are a amd guy. i7 ftw.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 04-20-2009, 01:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: Unable to boot from optical drive



I haven't reset CMOS yet (requires a lot of effort because my case is under my desk :grind_teeth but will be doing it shortly. I have the manual in PDF form and will look through it and see... loads of BIOS options in DFI's BIOS.

I know the port is good as I used to have a hard drive on it.

If the deductable wouldn't kill me I would definitely entertain thoughts about it having an "accident". :P
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-20-2009, 02:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: Unable to boot from optical drive

Could always try updating the firmware on the drives as well.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 04-20-2009, 05:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: Unable to boot from optical drive

Didn't find anything in the BIOS. Updated the firmware and reset the CMOS. When I opened up the case I realized I had the optical drive on the secondary SATA ports so I moved it to the primary ports.

I currently have the first, second, and third boot set to CD, but it still bypasses it and boots from the hard drive.

I am stumped.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-20-2009, 05:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Unable to boot from optical drive

Have you tried different bootable disks in case the one you have is bad?
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 04-20-2009, 05:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: Unable to boot from optical drive

I haven't, but I can. I'll post back once I do.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-20-2009, 05:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default Re: Unable to boot from optical drive

also might try booting directly from the boot menu as well if you haven't already
__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Old 04-20-2009, 05:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default Re: Unable to boot from optical drive

Here's the latest BIOS for your Mobo.
http://img.lanparty.tw/Upload/BIOS/CM/NF4LD406.ZIP

See if it's the same one you are currently using.

Date Code 2006-04-06
File NF4LD406.ZIP
Size 398 KB
Description: If users do not have floppy drive in their computer system, Please update BIOS by using Winflash and follow the instruction guide to update BIOS.

The BIOS Upgrade for SST 49LF040B LPC flash ROM Only
Major Reasons of Change:
1 . Add CPU temperature calibration option.
2 . Fix ps2 mouse fail when ps2 kb not present.
3 . Fix s1/s3 temp error after resume.
4 . Fix startup VID option fail.
5 . Fix C 'n'O.5 multiplier not working with Opteron CPU.
6 . Fix day of month alarm can not set as 0 for every day usage.
7 . Fix NF4-D model display error if SATA3/4 is disabled.
8 . Fix ATI X1000 series logo error.
9 . Change FSB option to keyIn method.
10 . Change 3114 ROM to 5.2.1.6
11 . Change NV RAID ROM to 5.50
12 . Change memtest86+ to 1.65
13 . Synchronize DRAM related code with Expert and Venus.
14. Remove Write CAS latency item and replace it by Odd Divisor Select.
15 . Add support for SST 49LF040B LPC flash ROM.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 04-20-2009, 06:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: Unable to boot from optical drive

Yeah, I have the 04/06/06 BIOS. Figures. :P

Quote:
also might try booting directly from the boot menu as well if you haven't already
I have no idea what you mean. I am setting it to boot from CD in the BIOS. I am running a dual boot, so I get that boot menu when I boot. Are you talking about a different boot menu?

I may put my old burner (that won't burn anymore) if we can't figure this out. I just don't get why it won't do this from the SATA burner but it would the DIE one.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cant boot and no internal drive spacex Laptops and Notebooks 4 02-03-2009 09:07 AM
Playststion 3 Hard drive upgrade guide (56k warning, plenty of photos) solidsteve Sony Playstation 9 08-20-2008 10:18 AM
Problem occurred when plugging in floppy drive. WasTech Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 76 08-16-2008 04:36 PM
dvd drive not on bios boot menu darsunt New Systems | Building and Buying 1 06-20-2008 01:53 PM
Hard drive fails File Structure test tropicalfish Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-15-2007 01:37 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.