uhhhh WTF - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-15-2008, 09:23 AM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: uhhhh WTF

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
got it figured out thanks apokalipse.
never got the bios to flash, though, and i exhausted my ideas of why i couldn't.
although, i am not familiar enough with ultraISO to really know what i am doing...
What's the actual problem with the BIOS flash? does it just not boot from the CD?

If that's the problem, just use ImgBurn to burn the .iso I made
I already put in the P36 BIOS. It should automatically flash once it boots.

you don't need to modify the .iso; I already did that. (uploaded to rapidshare)
.....
hold on, did I even give you the download link to one I uploaded to rapidshare?

*edit*
uploaded it to google:
http://apokalipse.googlepages.com/NF59_P36.iso

just burn that using Imgburn, and boot from it.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-15-2008, 09:54 AM   #12 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: uhhhh WTF

yeah it says "boot disc failure, insert system disc"
of course...i didnt use imgburn to burn it, i just put it into a folder and burned it right to disc. is that the problem?
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 01-15-2008, 09:56 AM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: uhhhh WTF

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
yeah it says "boot disc failure, insert system disc"
of course...i didnt use imgburn to burn it, i just put it into a folder and burned it right to disc. is that the problem?
yes, the .iso contains a boot sector. It won't boot without it.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-15-2008, 09:59 AM   #14 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: uhhhh WTF

word. ima try it right now.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 01-15-2008, 10:14 AM   #15 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: uhhhh WTF

flash seemed to work (it booted off the disc and ran thru the update), but cpuz still shows the bios date as 4/13/2007.
hmmm, is there anything else i need to do? do i need to reset my cmos?
on the evga website it showed the new date on bios, also shows evga mobo as the foxconn.
also said they got 1/2 multi's with bios...(i still dont have them)
any ideas?
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 01-15-2008, 10:32 AM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: uhhhh WTF

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
flash seemed to work (it booted off the disc and ran thru the update), but cpuz still shows the bios date as 4/13/2007.
which .iso did you use?

I made a .iso (bootable) with the new BIOS and uploaded it to rapidshare before, but I think I might have forgotton to put in the PM.

I sent you a PM with an .iso of the P35 BIOS, which isn't the newer one (so that you could create a backup flash CD in case it failed). Is that the one you used?
I uploaded the .iso I modified (with the new BIOS) to google:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
What's the actual problem with the BIOS flash? does it just not boot from the CD?

If that's the problem, just use ImgBurn to burn the .iso I made
I already put in the P36 BIOS. It should automatically flash once it boots.

you don't need to modify the .iso; I already did that. (uploaded to rapidshare)
.....
hold on, did I even give you the download link to one I uploaded to rapidshare?

*edit*
uploaded it to google:
http://apokalipse.googlepages.com/NF59_P36.iso

just burn that using Imgburn, and boot from it.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-15-2008, 10:39 AM   #17 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: uhhhh WTF

okay i downloaded the one that you put on google. in the file, it shows it as nf_p36 (after i burn it to disc with imgburn).
when i get into the flash utility, it shows date (im guessing of the p_35 bios) of 4/13/2007
and it says "file name to program nf59_p35.bin (which is the current bios). i dont know if that means it is going to overwrite that file, or if it is the actual file it is going to write.
i hit Y, and it goes thru the motions of flashing.
i burned one disc from your file on google, and one from the evga forum that the guy posted that he made. i tried both discs, and they both do the same thing.
i haven't re-set cmos, but i will try that now. gimme a sec, unless you have other ideas...
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 01-15-2008, 10:44 AM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: uhhhh WTF

I changed the autoexec.bat to flash to NF59_P36.BIN (which is the new BIOS)
It should give you that file name when it goes to flash.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-15-2008, 10:45 AM   #19 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: uhhhh WTF

nu-uh, it still says in the bios flash "nf59_p35.bin"....but on the cd it shows that the file is indeed named nf59_p36
nope, no such luck.
cpuz still says 4/13/2007 and doesn't identify my mobo as a foxconn, and no half-multi's.
well, any other ideas?
lol or should i just say "screw it"?
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 01-15-2008, 10:57 AM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: uhhhh WTF

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
nu-uh, it still says in the bios flash "nf59_p35.bin"....but on the cd it shows that the file is indeed named nf59_p36
nope, no such luck.
cpuz still says 4/13/2007 and doesn't identify my mobo as a foxconn, and no half-multi's.
well, any other ideas?
lol or should i just say "screw it"?
did you check the autoexec.bat to see if it had the correct file name?

also, you could try winflash
techPowerUp! :: Download Winflash 2.0.0.2
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTF....Need some help here MetalOwns Overclocking and Modding 6 12-07-2007 12:07 AM
Overheating CPU @ 70C wtf? magezzz New Systems | Building and Buying 1 11-03-2007 09:00 PM
uhhhh!!! I need help picking a MB thirdshiftdj New Systems | Building and Buying 17 09-15-2007 02:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.