uhh...hmmm.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-19-2005, 07:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 85
Question uhh...hmmm....

ok here is what happened... first my webcam stopped working without me doing anything to it at all. i went to bed with it working and woke up and it didnt work. tried reinstalling it and it said there was an error installing the driver. so i decided it was time to get rid of what spyware and stuff i had so i did that and had it running clean, restarted it and tried reinstalling the cam again but it still didnt work... im not sure exactly when but at some point during all this my speakers stopped working. cant get my speakers to work now either. and i go into control panel and try to open "add hardware" but the hour glass shows for a split second but nothing loads. so for the heck of it i went into network connections and nothing shows up under network connections at all. so i tried to refresh the network connections page and i get an error message saying "the network connections folder was unable to retrieve the list of network adapters on your machine. Please make sure that the network connections service is enabled and running." hmmmm i think thats all the problems i ran into so far.... any help?

o ya in case you are wondering the programs i used to get rid of my spyware and stuff... i used spy bot s&d, ad aware, avg, and cwshredder
__________________

sum1nowhere is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 07:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

How old's your installation of XP? I think you're best off just reformatting XP. It'll more than likely fix all your problems, as well as getting rid of all that spyware you mentioned.
__________________

WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 07:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 85
Default

ya... im a little worried about reformatting because last time i did it i had a friend over who reformats his all the time and it took us forever and to this day my scanner/printer wont work
sum1nowhere is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 07:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Only has to do with drivers. As long as you have SP2, most of your hardware will be automatically detected. And whatever isn't, you can easily google to find.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 08:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 85
Default

my xp reinstallation cd only comes with sp 1
sum1nowhere is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 08:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Just download it. It's free. And you can slipstream it to a recordable CD so your original XP and SP2 are merged together, so when you format, it automatically installs SP2 for you!

SP2 download page:
http://www.softpedia.com/get/System/...-SP2-RTM.shtml

Autostream download page:
http://fileforum.betanews.com/detail/1092632287/1


And if you haven't formatted on your own before, maybe you should get your friend to help you again. Orrr, maybe it'd be a good opportunity for you to learn to do this. It isn't that complicated, provided you have basic computer knowledge. I remember having to do a clean reformat of windows 98 for the first time when I was 12...
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 08:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 85
Default

ya ide rather just learn to do it on my own.. kinda off topic but can i get like a step by step how to do it...i have office xp now but ide be using a xp home edition cd
sum1nowhere is offline  
Old 11-20-2005, 02:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 85
Default

does this look like a good step by step process for reformatting to you? http://www.windowsreinstall.com/winx.../emulation.htm
i have a question though... at about the 14th slide of that it says to remove any floppy disks. should i also remove the windows xp reinstall cd? or do i leave that in until xp is completely installed?
sum1nowhere is offline  
Old 11-20-2005, 02:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

No. Remove floppys, but leave CD in, but DO NOT let it boot from the CD again. It'll boot from the hard drive. And copy files from the CD.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 11-20-2005, 02:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 85
Default

ok thanks. so you think that site is a good one to follow?
__________________

sum1nowhere is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.