Uh oh - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-05-2010, 08:39 PM   #11 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: Uh oh

NEWSS !!!!

I research on the internet for about an hour on all the possibilities and how to fix them, i was armed and ready for super leet pc fixing skills.

I go in, plug in the pc cables (it was totally unplugged), connect it to the monitor, hit the power button AND THEN.. bios shows up windows boots and we're all good
PC's baffle me sometimes.

Although i going to check it in the morning and see how it is and run Memtest to check things over.
__________________

__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 09-05-2010, 09:01 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,665
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Uh oh

For future reference, if NOTHING happens when you power on except fans spinning up, no beep code or video signal, then you should ALWAYS try completely resetting the system first. Remove the bios battery, unplug the power, press the power button a few times, put the battery back in, press the power button a few more times, plug the power in.
__________________

__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 09-06-2010, 03:03 AM   #13 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: Uh oh

I did.. like 5 times. I took everything in and out loads, resetted cmos loads, unplugged and replugged cables in 10 or 20 times and tried 2 monitors.
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 09-06-2010, 03:11 AM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Uh oh

I was in the same boat at a job once, had a $2300 custom built PC in for a strange issue, exactly as described, I did everything to get her running, we also happened to have had a BAD thunderstorm the night prior, well, I said to **** after trouble shooting for two days and got tired of the boss *****ing at me while trouble shooting.

The reason it took so long, all parts worked, everything should have worked out just fine together, but wouldnt...

A week later another tech comes in after the rig sat waiting for someone to call us back with a go-ahead, and plugs the PC up to the wall, and it turns on...

Can't explain it, but, it ****ed me off, as I got *****ed at even more for not properly performing my job after that, I sat there and looked at her, told her to **** off and do her job and I would do mine, needless to say, soon after my pay was cut, I *****ed, then got fired.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 09-06-2010, 03:23 AM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,665
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Uh oh

Quote:
Originally Posted by kmanmx View Post
I did.. like 5 times. I took everything in and out loads, resetted cmos loads, unplugged and replugged cables in 10 or 20 times and tried 2 monitors.
yeah but did you ever completely drain the system? Doing all that isn't guaranteed to do it
ah well, if it breaks again post back up
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 09-06-2010, 03:59 AM   #16 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: Uh oh

Moving thread to the Troubleshooting sub-forum.

To the op, I hope this was not a fatherday's (.AU) gift to your dad
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 09-06-2010, 07:55 AM   #17 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: Uh oh

Checked it this morning and it's still running fine.

Dad even left me 20 as a thankyou, as it saved him 100 as he cancelled his new ram order Maybe i should break his PC more often.
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 09-06-2010, 12:18 PM   #18 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Uh oh

Hmmmmmm, I wonder if you tripped the psu....... Thus the "cool down" both your dad and computer, allowed the psu to reset.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.