Uh oh - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-05-2010, 03:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Uh oh

Oh dear what have i done

My dad got a new ATI 4650 for his PC, which i kindly offered to install. Whilst i was installing it, i noticed he didn't have his crucial ballistix ram in duel channel. So i put it in duel channel, start his PC up and it locks up loading windows.

So i was like "oh, odd" rebooted his PC, it turns on, gpu turns on, everything seems fine. No error beeps or anything, but nothing turns up on his monitor. Anyway we spend about an hour testing different things like swapping back to old gpu, resetting cmos etc - but nothing.

He is totally ****ed off right now, especially as he has an exam at work on friday and all his exam material is on his PC.

I feel like it was my fault, i mean it must of been my fault, but all i did was the most mundane swapping of ram slots. I open up my pc every week and change stuff with no problem. I feel SO guilty but on the other hand, fail to how i could of f'd it up so bad
__________________

__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 09-05-2010, 04:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Uh oh

Do you get he bios?
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-05-2010, 04:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: Uh oh

Nope, nothing. Just a monitor with a yellow light saying no signal. I would go and continue working on his PC, but he's mad and told me to **** off and leave his PC alone.. uhm

edit:

OH ! i forgot to add a potentially important thing. After dad had left the room and i removed gpu/reset cmos for the first time, it did boot up and did a windows repair. But as i stood up i knocked the table and the screen went blank again and dad walked in. So i thought, oh, it's the cable/monitor then. But then after trying new cables and a different monitor this idea was quickly gone.
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 09-05-2010, 04:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Uh oh

Ouch........ time to go hide me thinks........ Like in Siberia.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-05-2010, 04:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: Uh oh

Sounds nasty... Though, this needs to be in hardware troubleshooting.

Anyways, go bare as possible, no ram/gpu/hard drive, nothing, just have the CPU in, and power it up, see if you get any beep codes, you get beep codes, throw a stick of ram in, don't get codes, then stop, bad stick or slot, try another stick/slot, no codes again, then either all ram is bad, or your memory controller was fried.

If you DO get beep codes, throw the GPU in, and hook up your monitor, and see what happens, nothing, not even a beep, you have a bad GPU.

ALSO, gently clean the contacts on the ram and gpu with some rubbing alcohol, I have had times where the gold plating would I guess, tarnish, and wouldn't properly conduct electricity anymore.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 09-05-2010, 04:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: Uh oh

Well, he's had a shower and seems to of calmed down now. Just asked me to download his work material for his laptop.

the thread wasn't actually meant to be a hardware help thread, just an "oh crap wadda i do" thread
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 09-05-2010, 04:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: Uh oh

I think that's what 90% of people are thinking when they head to hardware trouble shooting. :-p
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 09-05-2010, 05:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Uh oh

Try some different ram, ballistix are notorious for completely dying without any warning. I had two sets do it to me before I gave up on rmaing them and just tossed them.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 09-05-2010, 05:48 PM   #9 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: Uh oh

I just feel like it was my fault, which sucks big style. The worst thing is he wont let me contribute money towards some new ram, so i can't even relieve my guilt

Anyhow, he's just ordering 4gig of cheep ddr3.
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 09-05-2010, 06:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Uh oh

double check to see if the RAM is fully seated, sometimes it may seem like its seated... but its not.

just saying

happened to me couple of times.
__________________

Fat.Clown is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.