Two CPU's Listed in Device Manager - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-29-2008, 01:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 141
Default Two CPU's Listed in Device Manager

Hi,

I have a dual core AMD CPU. In Device Manger, it shows that I have two of them. I deleted one of them once but it came back.

Anybody have any thoughts on the subject? Should 2 be listed because it's a dual core CPU?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Two CPU's listed in Device Manager c.jpg (55.6 KB, 42 views)
__________________

__________________
Denise
Denise_M is offline  
Old 05-29-2008, 01:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Two CPU's Listed in Device Manager

Yes, there's supposed to be 2 there. It counts 2 "logical" CPU's, but there's still only 1 physical CPU. It's the same in my Core 2 Duo computer; and if you were to have a quad core,there'd be 4 listed in the device manager.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 05-29-2008, 01:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
I know things...
 
wicked23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 398
Default Re: Two CPU's Listed in Device Manager

By the way that yellow question mark usually means you need to install a driver for what ever it is.
__________________
"Research is what I'm doing when it looks like I'm not doing anything" :D

BEER, is it in you?
wicked23 is offline  
Old 05-29-2008, 08:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 141
Default Re: Two CPU's Listed in Device Manager

Hi Carnage . . . thanks for the explanation.
__________________
Denise
Denise_M is offline  
Old 05-29-2008, 08:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 141
Default Re: Two CPU's Listed in Device Manager

Hi Wicked . . . The yellow question mark is for my Maxtor One Touch II ext hdds. I installed the software, which is basically only Retrospect, but there are no drivers on the disk. I checked for drivers on the net and couldn't find any. The reason might be because Maxtor was bought out by Seagate and Seagate dropped support for these oldies, but it could also be because Retrospect is the driver as well as a Restore program, or maybe no x64 drivers are available for them. The software worked on my old 32-bit pc.
__________________
Denise
Denise_M is offline  
Old 05-29-2008, 08:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Two CPU's Listed in Device Manager

Quote:
Originally Posted by Denise_M View Post
Hi Carnage . . . thanks for the explanation.
No problem.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
yellow question mark under device manager AMD6415 System Upgrades 4 05-14-2008 06:39 PM
Yellow Exclamation Mark in Device Manager Triple-X Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 12-22-2007 04:09 PM
How can I use MS Outlook Contacts track clients emails and clients information? david55 Microsoft Windows and Software 7 11-12-2007 07:18 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.