tv tuner might be dead - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-02-2005, 08:37 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

So its offical, the tv tuner card is dead. I took a spare hard drive, unplugged all my other hard drives, installed windows on it, and I still have the same problem as before. So its more than a windows mistake. Now its time to look for a new tv tuner card.

Any ideas?
__________________

__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 11-02-2005, 11:03 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

the leadtek manuals i've read say to ignore the first windows hardware dialogues, install their software which will reboot the computer and then go through the dialogues. sorry i hate throwing out hardware lol. the tv2000xp FM is the model up from the old card i used to have. i liked that card a lot, the only problem with it is that sound and video get out of synch with the higher quality settings and i think that the tv2000xp fm has the same problem. i can't help much with the other cards. but i still think that card is good value for money despite the synch problem.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 11-02-2005, 11:35 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Yeah, I have installed the software many times. How ever this time I use thier software and go through the install process. It doesnt work like it has in the past. I can install the pvr software and load it up, but i am prompted with a message that it cant find a capture device. In the device manager you could see the devices associated with the tuner, but they arent there any more, and some of them are under different names. I have no idea what caused this.

As I said before I tried the card on a fresh install of windows with no changes. I am wondering what else I can do to test it. I have a linux system but dont know it as well as i know windows. My last thought is to put it back in the pci slot and reset the bios to the default settings. Maybe something with the bios isnt meshing with the card. Do you think this has any probablity of working? Or maybe you can walk me though it with linux, would it even work with linux?
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 11-02-2005, 11:40 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

unfortunately the winfast cards have poor support for linux. i doubt it. i don't think resetting the bios will help much but it is still worth a try.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 12:04 AM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

The bios idea didnt work at all. Oh well. I'll hang on to the card and began shopping for a replacement. Any brand or model suggestions?

Thanks for your help.
__________________

__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.