'Tuti Fruiti' on cold boot - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-22-2008, 01:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Default 'Tuti Fruiti' on cold boot

I recently put together my first home build desktop. Everything went great! Over the past few months I am unable to play World Of Warcraft on a cold boot. If I power up and load WoW first, the login screen and/or first load screen in game will get a ton of artifacts and/or most times will freeze and have a 'tutti fruiti' type screen. (sorry if this is not the correct lingo, its what we called it in my Doom 2 programming days!)

No other programs do this. Seems like I am having to wait more and more before being able to load the game, yesterday having to wait an hour before it worked. My limited PC knowledge says its a cold card, but I always thought that is better! Any help is appreciated.


My Setup
PC Power & Cooling S75QB 750W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI NVIDIA SLI
EDIMAX EW-7128G PCI Wireless Card - Retail
Microsoft Windows XP Professional 64Bit SP2C for System Builders - OEM
ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler - Retail
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz LGA 775 Quad-Core Processor
EVGA 512-P3-N841-A3 GeForce 8800GTS (G92) 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI
ABIT IP35 Pro LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3250410AS 250GB 7200 RPM SATA (RAID 0)
Crucial Ballistix 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)
Pioneer 20X DVDĪR DVD Burner Black IDE Model DVR-115DBK - OEM
__________________

Rabidfool is offline  
Old 10-22-2008, 02:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: 'Tuti Fruiti' on cold boot

If it isn't happening with any other programs or games (assuming they are just as graphic-intense as WoW) then try reinstalling WoW.
__________________

__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 10-22-2008, 02:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: 'Tuti Fruiti' on cold boot

I have.

One thing that JUST started happening is I am getting a RAID 0 error during my POST screen. One drive says master, the other says Error 0.

Im wondering if this is causing it, but it seems weird that it JUST popped up and only affects WoW on cold boots.
Rabidfool is offline  
Old 10-22-2008, 03:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: 'Tuti Fruiti' on cold boot

Since youa re doing a raid 0 configuration you may have to rebuild your array since parts of the wow program will be on both drives.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 10-22-2008, 03:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: 'Tuti Fruiti' on cold boot

Does that mean a full system restore?

Is that normal when a RAID has errors to only effect one program? I figured if this was the cause it would be effecting everything. And this error just showed up today, while the WoW problem has been going on and getting progressively worse for months.
Rabidfool is offline  
Old 10-23-2008, 09:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: 'Tuti Fruiti' on cold boot

I wouldn't suggest RAID 0 in the first place, but what happens is parts of files and programs are on both drives. So RAID 0 offers the ability to access files a bit faster.

Since you've already uninstalled the program, try running some disk checking software to make sure your hard drive isn't failing. I would first run a disk cleanup, then disk defrag, and finally a disk check (checking all sectors which actually required a reboot, and it will check the drive at restart).

See if it comes up with any errors.
__________________

__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10 Ways To Make Linux Boot Faster Osiris Linux Tips and Tricks 0 08-04-2008 09:36 AM
Researchers release 'cold boot' attack utilities Osiris Viruses, Spyware and Malware 0 07-21-2008 01:09 PM
Restarts on a cold boot [t..o..m] Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-17-2008 12:59 AM
When I OC I get cold boot problems. krazieaznboi Overclocking and Modding 5 06-19-2007 09:43 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.